Stacie and I usually don’t cook a lot of pork chops. I’m not real sure why, but it just never occurs to us. Sunday, though, I got a craving for pork chops. We had to make a run to the store anyway, so I thought I would stop by the butcher and see what he had in stock. I was pleasantly surprised to see these pork chops. They were quite thick and priced pretty well.

Pork Chops

As you can see, these aren’t the normal pork chops you usually find already packaged and ready to go. Instead they were about 1.5″ thick!

 
These were about 1.5″ thick

 Since these weren’t the normal, skinny pork chops you usually find, I decided we needed to do something special with these ones. I decided to give them a brine to help them stay moist and not dry out. I used the Flavor Brine #1 from Thirdeye’s cookin’ site http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogspot.com/, but added a few things of my own. ( I just can’t leave well enough alone)

Brine

  • 1 quart of water
  • 3 tbsp of Kosher salt
  • 2 tbsp of sugar
  • about 20 or so whole black peppercorns
  • 2 tsp of your favorite bbq rub ( I used Stubb’s Rub)
  • 2 tsp of crab boil

I heated this brine up until it came to a boil and stirred until all the ingredients dissolved. Then I simmered it for about 5 minutes. After it cooled down, I placed it in a nonreactive bowl and placed in the refrigerator to sit over night. The pork chops would go into the brine after I got home from work for about 3 hours or so.  I wasn’t sure how I was going to season them up, but after scrounging around in the cabinet I came across some Dizzy Pig Red Eye Express, which is a coffee infused bbq rub. I haven’t used it awhile and decided it would compliment the pork nicely.

Got the Egg fired up with Official Cowboy All Natural Mesquite Lump and got it settled in at about 500 F. Then I took the pork out of the brine, rinsed it off, drizzled some oil on it and applied the rub. The chops went on the grill for about 10 minutes total, 2.5 minutes and then rotate 90 degrees, another 2.5 minutes and flip, 2.5 minutes and rotate another 90 degrees and let go for 2.5 minutes more. The last 4 minutes or so, I opened up the vents on the Egg and got it up to 600 F to get a really nice sear. When I mention times, you need to realize that it is  just a baseline. Always cook to temp, not time. When the pork got to 140, I pulled it and let it rest, knowing that it would continue to rise until it hit 145 which was my target goal. (the FDA recently changed the safe cooking temp of pork to 145, BTW)

Plated up

 We served the pork up with some mashed potatoes, peas and some apple sauce. I think that this might just have been the best pork chop that I have ever cooked or eaten in my life. Who knew that there was actually a taste and texture difference between the two different muscles found on a pork loin chop? Not me. ( I grew up eating over cooked pork chops and thought they were supposed to be dry and tough like shoe leather, sorry Mom, you were just following FDA guidelines.) From now on, whenever I want pork chops, you better believe I will be going straight to the butcher to get them and not picking up the thin pre-packaged ones you find in the meat section. What a difference it makes! Thanks for looking and make sure to leave a comment.

