Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie

 Mrs. G and I like to cook whole chickens because it gives us plenty of meat to use for leftovers later on in the week. One less step you have to take later on. We are always looking for new recipes to try this out on. This week we decided to use our leftovers from the spatchcock chicken to make pot pie using a recipe her sister shared with us. I probably should have let Mrs. G write this one, as she did most of the prep work. I know she sautéed some onions and made a roux, then added half and half and chicken broth and then the veggies and chicken, but don’t ask me for amounts. It was then baked in the oven (Gasp! Yes, we do use our oven occasionally, I didn’t feel like firing up the Egg tonight, but I’m sure it would have worked just as well) at 425 for 30 minutes.

Coming out of the oven.

 I will take the blame for the less than pretty crust. Mrs. G says we need to take a baking class so we can make it look better. She might just be right, but if it tastes good, who cares?

Sliced up

 I think it turned out pretty good. The sauce was pretty thick and I’m sure it could have used a touch more liquid, but the flavor was good. Even though the chicken was cooked on the egg, it really didn’t have any smoke flavor to it since I did not use a lot of wood when I cooked it originally. This was a great way to use some left over chicken.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie

Leave a Reply

