Chipotle Chicken Wings and Pulled Pork Quesadillas

 Saturday, the #3 Baylor Bears faced off against #5 Missouri and I thought it would be a great excuse to have some friends over to cook out with and drink a few beers. Earlier in the week, I had found a recipe for chipotle chicken and I thought it would make some nice wings. Digging around in the freezer, I also found some pulled pork that I had vacuum sealed and decided it would make some nice quesadillas to go along with it.

Chipotle Chicken Wings

Chipotle Chicken

  • 1 (7 oz) can chipotle chiles in adobo sauce
  • 1 medium white onion, chopped
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeds removed, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • Juice of 4 limes
  • 2 to 3 cups of mayonnaise
  • 2 whole chickens, cut into pieces (or 21 thighs, or 3 lbs chicken wings, that is what I used, but you could probably do more)
  • 1 lime cut into wedges

In a food processor, combine the chipotles with adobo sauce, white onion, jalapeno, cilantro, lime juice and mayonnaise. Add a pinch of salt and blend until smooth. Transfer to a large glass or stainless steel bowl. Taste and adjust seasonings. If it is too spicy, add more mayonnaise.

Add the chicken pieces, turn to coat, then cover and marinate in the fridge for 2-4 hours, turning occasionally.

Halfway Done

Set up your Egg or grill for 400F for an indirect cook. Initially, I began this cook with just a raised grate, but soon realized all the marinade dripping off was causing it to smoke like crazy and would immediately burst into flames whenever the lid was open. Because of this reason, I inserted the placesetter legs up, wrapped it in foil (I would advise doing something to catch the drippings), and then placed the grate and grate extender on top of that. Cook the chicken until it registers 165 with a meat thermometer.

Done

 These wings really had quite a bite to them, so if you aren’t a big fan of heat, omit the jalapeno or use more mayo to cut that heat. We served them up with some home-made ranch, celery and carrots to help cut the kick as well. The apple wood that I chose to use went well them. I will say that if you like crispy skin on your wings, then these might not be for you as the marinade prevents the skin from actually crisping up, but it does a wonderful job of keeping the meat moist and prevents it from drying out.

On to the pulled pork quesadillas. Started off sauteeing up some onions and red and yellow bell peppers. (Yeah most people would go with green peppers, but I can’t stand them and I’m the one cooking, so I omitted them)

Sauteeing Veggies

 Put all the ingredients out so that people could build their own. There was also goat cheese, but it didn’t make the picture.

Toppings

Building mine up.

 Quesadillas are a quick cook. You want to melt the cheese and just toast the tortilla a bit.

On the Egg

 Not the greatest shot, but they were quite tasty. It was a nice change of pace to use the pulled pork in quesadillas rather than the traditional way of a bun and coleslaw.

7 thoughts on “Chipotle Chicken Wings and Pulled Pork Quesadillas

  1. THat looks freakin delicious. I can’t wait for a weekend when I’m home, I think it’ll be a grilling extravaganza! Very inspiring.

    • Ya know, I’ve read so much about Alabama white sauce and for years I’ve been saying I was going to try and make some, but still to this day I haven’t. It slips off the radar and off the mind and I forget about it. But one day….

Leave a Reply

