I’ll admit it….I have a bucket list of food. Some of it are fancy places I would like to go like The French Laundry or Jean Georges or WD-50. Some are simpler places like Snow’s BBQ in Texas or Katz Deli (I’ve never been to NYC) or Drago’s in NOLA for their grilled oysters (we missed it last time). Some of it’s just food that I want to try, not necessarily from any one place, like a real Philly cheese steak or lobster mac ‘n cheese or a Chicago deep dish pizza. Heck, I even have a folder of food saved on my computer of things I want to cook someday.

Well, with Mrs. G out-of-town this week, I was able to cook somethin’ this past Friday that I know she would not be interested in, nor probably allow me to cook. Something I saw awhile back on TV, although I’m not sure who came up with the idea originally. Something that I doubt I will ever cook again, but at least I can say I had one and cross it off my list…..a grilled cheese burger! I don’t know about you, but growing up I could have lived on grilled cheese. And they weren’t any fancy kind of grilled cheese, just regular bread and plain ole American cheese. Loved ‘em, couldn’t get enough of them. And what kid doesn’t like a burger? So it only makes sense to combine the two, right?

I fired up my Egg, as I was going to be doing this all outside, and threw in a CI skillet to begin to pre-heat.

Making the grilled cheese first

 Trying to plan ahead, I cooked one grilled cheese first, before throwing the burger on thinking the second grilled cheese would be done be done at the same time.

Burger and second grilled cheese going

 This burger came from the batch of meat I ground up a few days before but had frozen for a later use. Starting to smell good and I was getting hungry by this point.

Plated up

 All I can say is WOW! This was one big honking, tasty burger. The grilled cheese used as buns added a unique texture to the burger and the fresh ground meat in the pattty was wonderful. Looking back, I don’t think that this burger needed two slices of cheese per grilled cheese (for a total of 4!) and I might have made the patty a tad too big. In fact, I was only able to eat half of it before throwing in the towel. While tasty, I’m not sure I would ever make this burger again, but at least now I can cross it off my list. Wonder what I should try and make next? (Don’t worry Mrs. G and Mom, I’m already planning on having a salad for dinner tonight. )

