Sliders with Home Ground Beef

     It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything here. Eleven days to be exact, and for us, that’s quite unusual. But we were out of town for a while watching Mrs. G’s sister getting married. And before that, I gotta admit I was just feeling a little bit burned out on cooking. Just couldn’t get motivated to cook anything. I’m sure you all know the feeling. You should make something for dinner, maybe something healthy or maybe something fun or special, but you just can’t seem to get your butt in gear. Sometimes you just need a break. Although I don’t think I’m totally over my burnout, last night the wife and I agreed that burgers sounded good.

Frying up some patties

Frying up some patties

     Bet you’re shocked that I’m not doing these on my Egg. I could blame it on being out of charcoal and forgetting to get some more at the store (but I didn’t forget the charcoal). I could blame it on mowing the yard yesterday and having a serious allergy attack, but I won’t. I could say that sometimes Mrs. G wants a skillet burger as the outside caramelizes and develops a nice crust, but the truth is I was being lazy and it just seemed much easier to do it inside on the stove.

Melting the Cheese

     To make these burgers, I went to the freezer and pulled out some beef that I ground up back in January and had frozen for a later occasion. Details on that can be found HERE. After thawing them out, Mrs. G seasoned them up with some Worchestire sauce and some Dizzy Pig Raising the Steaks Rub. Each patty weighed about 3.5oz pre-cooked (just in case you curious, most fast food burgers are 4oz, In-And-Out is 2.) Then we placed them back in the fridge to chill out. I’ve found that hamburgers tend to hold together better if you cook them from fridge temperature versus room temperature.  After spending a few minutes on a medium-high skillet, the patties were flipped, topped with some white Anmerican cheese and then a lid was placed on top to help the cheese melt. While I was cooking the patties, Mrs. G toasted the buns a bit under the broiler (See? We can use a stove and an oven just like regular folks :) )

Half the sliders ready for topping

     Just because I was still feeling lazy, we opted for some paper plates. Doesn’t make the greatest presentation, but sometimes lazy trumps all. Served up with some tater chips as I forgot to pre-heat the oven for some tater tots and we were too hungry to wait.

Ready to grub

     Not the most fancy meal in the world, but sometimes you get a craving for a good burger and it can’t be ignored. Think I’m finally getting over my burnout, gonna fire up the Egg tonight. Maybe some stir-fry? Maybe some kind of seafood? You’ll just have to wait and see.

BTW….sorry for the picture quality. The battery for our good camera died over the weekend and didn’t charge in time, so we had to rely on our back-up. Really need to get a backup battery for that camera.

4 thoughts on “Sliders with Home Ground Beef

  1. Sometimes you just need a good ol’ skillet burger. You can’t duplicate that taste on the grill!

    Yum, Jason!

    I’m on a bit of a food funk too. I’m just filling in the blanks with sweets. LOL.

    Hope the wedding was wonderful!

  2. Glad you took the break, we all need it some times.

    The burgers look good, even if they were cooked on that “stove” thing you talked about ;)

    Have a good weekend!

  3. Glad you took a break, you need it some times.

    the burgers look good even if they are cooked on that “stove” thing you talked about ;)

    have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

