Spicy Ginger Teriyaki Wings and Buffalo Wings

Hot Wings and Spicy Ginger Teriyaki Wings

     I decided that Saturday was going to be a wing eating, beer drinking, Spurs watching kinda day early on in the week. I actually had a Saturday free with no plans or errands to run or anything. That doesn’t happen often for me and I was planning on taking full advantage of it. Friday night, I talked to a friend, Mr. J, and invited him and his girlfriend to come over and join us. It had been years since I saw him. He actually inspired me to start my blog but never knew it till I told him Saturday night. He had made a comment over a year ago that all I ever did was post pictures of food on Facebook….which was soooo not true. But thank you anyway Mr. J for getting me started.

     Now all I had to do was decide what kind of wings to make. Earlier that week, I had spotted a recipe for Spicy Ginger Teriyaki Wings on the Egghead Forum that Cazzy had made at the Salado Eggfest and that others had since made with good results. That sounded good to me, but just in case I would make half that way and half regular ole  Buffalo wings. Variety is always good. Here’s the recipe as submitted to the Salado Eggfest website.

Spicy Ginger Teriyaki Wings (Submitted by Cazzy)

Ingredients needed

Chicken wings (whole or cut to flappers and drumettes)
1 cup soy sauce (low sodium)
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup Mirin Rice Wine
1 tbsp fresh ginger root (peeled and grated)
1 tsp chili flakes (I opted for 2 tbps of chili garlic sauce and a coupla heaping squirts of Sriracha instead)
*I use this as a base and multiply quantities based on need.

Making Spicy Ginger Teriyaki Sauce

In a sauce pan…bring soy, brown sugar and mirin rice wine to a boil and leave on heat till brown sugar has dissolved. Stir regularly and throughout after boil to avoid scorching. Low heat and add ginger and chili flakes. Simmer for 10 min while stirring regularly. Remove from heat and refrigerate.

Marination
Marinate wings for 24 hours in chilled marinade prior to cook (the chili flakes will rise to the top so shake it up). I use a gallon bag to marinate because I like to lay bag flat and flip after 12 hours. (Note: due to time constraints, I was only able to marinate for 16 hours, Cazzy said a shorter marinate would probably be fine and it was)

Cook

Fire up egg and stabilize at 375-400. I use an adjustable rig with a 16″ drip pan and cook above the felt line. Place drumettes on outside and flappers in the middle because it will be hotter on the outside due to the drip pan.
This is the anal part but I find it really makes the wings tacky and layers the flavor. At 5 min, I baste with marinade, then again at 10 min. At 15, I flip and baste and then baste again at 20 min. This process is why I use a drip pan cause the marinade will make your lump smoke a undesirable taste into the wings. Your wings will be at about 145-150 and should really start having a beautiful brownish red color. Remove at 165…I check each one then remove. Some may go over a lil but no worry…as you know, our eggs are very forgiving. (One thing Cazzy did not mention, and I don’t know if he does or does not do it, but if I am going to use and marinade as a sauce that raw chicken has been in, I like to bring it to a boil for a good 5-10 minutes before hand for safety reasons)

Using different soy sauces will change the flavor a tad and you can reduce/increase ginger and chili flakes based on preference.

Wings going on

     I didn’t follow Cazzy’s directions exactly, as you can already see by the recipe. The other change is the setup I used for the Egg. I don’t have an adjustable rig, so I had to make do with what I do have. I inserted my placestter legs up, put an aluminum foil pan underneath the Teriyaki Wings (on the left side of above picture) and then put my grate on top of that. You will be basting the wings throughout the cook, and if you don’t catch the drippings, they will fall on the hot coals, causing them to smoke and impart a nasty flavor. I did not use any wood chips with this cook as teriyaki does not traditionally have smoke as past of the cook. On the right side of the Egg, you can see the Hot Wings. At this point they are simply sprinkled with Salt Lick rub. If you can’t find this particular rub in your area, any BBQ rub will work.

Halfway Through

  The Teriyak wings require some close supervision, at least with my setup. The sauce has quite a bit of sugar, and due to the amount of wings I had going, some of them were situated above the gaps of the placesetter. As such, the wings had to be flipped and rotated to prevent the sugar from burning. As you can see in the above picture, some of them had become a bit black, not quite burnt but not as appealing to the eye.

Spicy Ginger Teriyaki Wings

The Teriyaki wings came out great. They were sticky and sweet, but I did not detect a lot of heat. I don’t know if that was due to changing the recipe or not, but I will try to get some more heat in them next time. These were more like Teriyaki Wings.

Hot Wings

The rest of the wings got tossed with a simple buffalo wing sauce.

Buffalo Wing Sauce

1/2 cup Franks Hot Sauce

1/3 cup butter

few teaspoons of garlic powder

couple of squirts of Sriracha (adjust to your heat tolerance)

Bring ingredients to a boil and allow butter to melt. Toss wings in sauce, or drizzle on top of cooked wings.

Plated up

Wings were plated up with a pasta salad and some fresh veggies and served up with ranch. To me wings always make great game food, even if your team worries you for a bit. Just glad the Spurs were able to get it together and make a come back. All in all, it was a great day for hanging out, grilling, drinking some cold ones and catching up with friends.

Funny post I stole from friend on Facebook

6 thoughts on “Spicy Ginger Teriyaki Wings and Buffalo Wings

  1. I’m going to forgive the fact that you’re serving meat on a bone because these totally look awesome.

    Also, hope you had a great time watching baseball…errrr…hockey…ummm, football?

  2. Hey Jen, meat on a bone is awesome! Bone = flavor so leave shush :-P

    Seriously though, these both look amazing. I have no idea which one I want to try first….

  3. I have got to try the teriyaki wings! I’ve never grilled wings before, they look so great! And meat on the bone is okay by me, especially when it comes to wings :)

    • Very tasty and a different take on wings than your normal hot wings. If you do grill some up, use an indirect set-up, either over an unlit burner on a gas grill, or push the charcoal to one side and grill wings on the other side. The sugar will easily burn if over direct flame.

Leave a Reply

