Heath Chocolate Chip Cookies

     Who likes chocolate chip cookies? Who likes Heath bars? Ok….maybe not as many people on the Heath bars. They seem like the overlooked treat of the candy bar world, but I think they are GREATNESS. So the other day when I was at the store and spotted Heath Bits ‘O Brickle Toffee Bites near the chocolate chips, I knew they were coming home with me and going into some cookies…..along with a bunch of other stuff. Go to the store to get charcoal and come home with a full load of groceries…..anybody else have this problem? Or is it just me? Anyway….back to those cookies.

On to the Egg at 400F indirect. Don’t worry…..I’ll get to the oven directions in a minute.

Fast forward to yesterday, and I’m digging through my pile of notes, scraps of recipes and mismatched recipe cards looking for a cookie recipe that I can use these in (somebody should really come in and organize my recipes. And the rest of my office while they are at it). I found an old ratty, battered up recipe that is older than who knows what for chocolate chip cookies that I think came from my mom. Chocolate chip cookies? Heath? Sure that’ll work great.

Starting to melt

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 sticks butter, softened (1 cup)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup Heath Bits ‘O Brickle Toffee Bites

Baking away

Directions

  1. Set up Big Green Egg at 400F, place setter legs down (or preheat oven to 375)
  2. Using a stand mixer, beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract until creamy.
  3. Add eggs and continue to mix until mixed in.
  4. In another bowl, mix flour, salt and baking soda. Gradually add to stand mixer.
  5. Add chocolate chips and Heath and mix until well blended
  6. Spoon onto ungreased cookie sheets making each cookie about 1 tbsp
  7. Bake on the Egg for about 12 minutes (9 to 11 for oven)
  8. Cool on cookie sheets for a few minutes and then allow to completely cool on wire racks
  9. Enjoy with a cold glass of milk

Ready to come off the Egg

    So why bake it on the Egg? Besides the illogical reason of because you can, you aren’t heating up your kitchen, which nobody wants to do in this heat we are having. Or maybe because you are going to fire up the Egg anyway to cook dinner, so why not just light it earlier. But my favorite reason is, it gives Mrs. G and me a reason to sit outside together, catch up on our days without the distractions of TV or computers, maybe read a book and watch our furry four-legged boys run around the yard, keeping it squirrel free. The downside of baking these on the egg? I could manage about 8 cookies on a cookie sheet. This recipe made about 3 dozen cookies last night. You do the math on how many batches that was. Would have been much faster to do multiple batches in that square thing in the kitchen, but where’s the fun in that?

Only a small portion of the cookies that we made

What would I change?

  • Honestly, not much. If anything, I would probably increase the amount of Heath that I put in the cookies. I’m not that sure if by adding more. I might need to decrease the amount of chocolate chips or not. That’s something you can probably play around with to fit your individual tastes.

What are you looking at? Go get a cold glass of milk and enjoy

Note – Don’t worry if your first batch doesn’t quite come out right. Or if it takes a lot longer than 12 minutes. I know last night my first batch took over 15 minutes to cook. I remember growing up, watching my Mom make cookies (and the same thing with waffles or pancakes) and the first batch never quite comes out right. Same thing happens with me. I don’t know whether that is some universal law of physics, or maybe just a family curse. Just laugh it off and move onto that second batch. ;)

 

 

