Grilled Chicken Cordon Bleu

     Sometimes its hard cooking for just one. And that’s been something I’ve been doing quite a bit this summer with Mrs. G on the road so much. There are only so many times you can eat wings. Or pizza. Or burgers. (Who am I kidding? I could eat them all the time, but I shouldn’t.) I get that it is so much easier and faster to go out and grab fast food when you are by yourself, but sometimes you want something different. I was racking my brain yesterday, trying to come up with something to cook so I wouldn’t have to face the dreaded fast food. Mrs. G suggested stuffing a chicken and a lightbulb came on….why not chicken cordon bleu? On the grill?

Ingredients

  • 1 chicken breast
  • 4-6 slices of ham
  • 4 slices of Baby Swiss
  • Dijon mustard
  • BBQ rub of your choice or spices

Butterfly a chicken breast

     Start off by butterflying a chicken breast. With a knife parallel to your cutting board, begin by cutting down the length of the side of the breast. Carefully cut the breast in half widthwise almost to the other edge.

Open the chicken breast up

Open the chicken breast along the fold.

Pound the chicken breast flat and spread on Dijon mustard

     Next, cover the chicken breast with plastic wrap or wax paper. Using the flat side of a mallet, pound out the chicken until it is a uniform thickness, pounding down and away. Once you have achieved your desired thickness, spread a layer of Dijon mustard over the chicken breast.

Top the chicken breast

     Now add two or three slices of ham on each side of the chicken breast. I like to use a good, quality ham from the deli section. I’ll let you decide if you prefer a honey ham, a smoked ham or maybe a Black Forest. Add four slices of Baby Swiss on top of the ham and fold one side of the chicken on top of the other. At this point you want to secure your chicken breast. You can use kitchen twine, I suppose, but I just used some toothpicks. If you opt for toothpicks, it is best to work at a diagonal so that they form X’s. Once your breast is secure, apply your favorite rub or spices to both sides of the chicken. I almost went with some rosemary,oregano, basil, thyme type mixture, but at the last moment I spotted a rub that had been neglected recently….Sucklebuster’s Hoochie Mama.

On to the Egg

     The chicken then went on to the Egg at 400F using a raised grate and apple wood for smoke. Mine took about 15 minutes to cook, but remember to always cook to temperature. You want the thickest part to read 160 when you pull it and the temperature will continue to climb to 165 as it rests. (If you are using a grill other than a Kamado style grill, set it up for indirect cooking. Sear your chicken breast on both sides over the flames and then move it away from the fire to finish cooking.)

 

Plated up with some green beans and egg noodles with a lemon butter sauce.

     For a simple, last minute thrown together meal, this was pretty tasty. Ooey, gooey, melted cheese with salty ham and chicken rubbed with a spicy BBQ rub….what’s not to like? The sharp, tangy taste of the Dijon mustard played nicely with the ham. The apple wood gave it just a kiss of smoke. I think the only way this could be improved is with…..you guessed it…BACON! Hmmm….should I put cooked bacon in it next time? Or wrap the whole thing in bacon? This will take some thought. Just a secret between me an you….I only ate about half of it. I brought the rest of it to work with me for lunch….if I can wait that long.

 

     And in case you were wondering about the lemon butter sauce that went on the pasta, I’ll go ahead and share that as well. It’s a simple sauce (it’s got to be simple if I can make it, I’m not known for sauces) similar to what you would have with chicken scallopini. Keep on reading to find out how to make this delicious sauce.

 

Ingredients for lemon butter sauce

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp of unsalted butter
  • 2 tsp flour
  • 1/3 cup chicken stock
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • capers
  • artichoke hearts, diced

Directions

  1. Melt butter over medium heat.
  2. Add flour to skillet and cook about 1 minute, stirring constantly until smooth
  3. Add in remaining ingredients and bring to a boil
  4. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook another 2 minutes, stirring constantly until sauce begins to thicken
  5. Remove from heat, add pasta to skillet and stir to coat
