Grilled Salmon with Smoky Tomato Salsa

     I don’t always cook the healthiest of meals….SHOCKER!! Right? If you’ve been following along here for any amount of time, you’ve probably figured that out by now. Well, I’ve decided that I am going to try and incorporate more healthy food in my diet. That doesn’t mean that I’m not going to indulge myself in some “sinfully good, but oh so bad food” every once in a while, so you can keep coming here and expect to find that. But don’t be surprised to see some healthier alternatives as well.

     I guess you could say I took a page from The Mom Chef at Taking on Magazines. She does what she calls a Turn Back Time Tuesday where she pulls out old magazines and finds an old recipe. Except this isn’t Tuesday. And I don’t keep magazines. What I do (or used to do, haven’t done it in a while) is rip out recipes that I think are interesting and stick them in a binder with high hopes that someday I’ll cook them (most of the time I never do). Anyway, I wanted to find a healthy meal to cook and I remembered that forgotten binder and I knew it must have something in it. So after digging around in the study (that still has not been fully unpacked after 8 months), I found it. Flipping through it, I came across this recipe from Cooking Light Sept 2009. Better late than never, right? And the best part…..its a five ingredient meal!

Grilling vegetables for salsa

     As always, I have to do things my own way, but for once, I feel I pretty much stuck to the recipe. One thing that just seemed wrong to me about this recipe is that they want you to grill the salmon first, then grill your veggies, chop them up and make the salsa. To me that just seemed wrong. The salmon would get cold while taking care of the salsa. And to me, warm salsa on cold salmon did not sound appealing. But cool (or at least room temp) salsa on top of hot salmon….now that holds more appeal.

Ingredients

  • 4 (6 oz) salmon fillets
  • 4 large plum tomatoes, halved
  • 1 small red onion, cut into 1/2 inch slices
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 1 lime (additional lime to sprinkle on salmon if desired)

***That is the original recipe. We pared it down since there are only two of us. 2 salmon fillets, one large tomato, 1/2 a red onion, 1 jalapeno and 1 lime****

Grilling the salmon

Directions

  1. Set up your grill to 400F or medium high
  2. Grill onion and jalapeno for 6 minutes per side or until lightly browned. Grill tomato, cut side down, for 6 minutes. Turn and grill for one minute. Remove from grill and allow to cool. (The recipe said nothing about grilling the lime, but I figured “Why not?”)
  3. Sprinkle fillets with salt and pepper. Grill for 4 minutes per side or until desired degree of doneness.
  4. While resting salmon under foil, coarsely chop tomatoes and onion. Finely chop jalapeno, for a mild salsa, remove seeds first. Combine tomatoes, onion, jalapeno, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and juice from 1/2 lime. Taste and adjust seasonings.
  5. Serve salsa over salmon and garnish with lime wedges

Grill salmon at 400 F direct for about 4 minutes per side

      The recipe, coming from a magazine focused on healthy food and not grilling, obviously does not take smoke into consideration in its recipe. Lets face it, most people who attempt this recipe will probably use a gas grill. (and there’s nothing wrong with gas, although I personally believe gas goes in a car, not in a grill. ;) ) I decided to use apple wood for this recipe, but any light wood, especially a fruit wood like apple, cherry or peach, would work well here. And yes, you can use wood chips on a gas grill. Just wrap them in foil and poke a few holes in it to allow smoke to escape.

Plated up

     I’m usually wary about healthy recipes. Often times, they sacrifice flavor in order to be healthy. But that was not the case here. Although the salmon was only flavored with salt and pepper, the salsa more than made up for it with the sweetness of the grilled onions, the acidity from the lime and the heat from the jalapeno. I also wasn’t real sure about using salmon with salsa, but it paired nicely and salmon is a great fish to grill (I’m sure other types of fish would work well in this recipe) If you are looking for a healthy seafood dish that packs a ton of flavor, this just might be the recipe for you.

One last picture cuz I’m super happy about the way they turned out.

Nutritional Information

  • Calories 336
  • Fat 18.6 g (sat 3.7g, mono 6.6, poly 6.8)
  • Protein 34.7g
  • Carb 6.2g
  • Fiber 1.7g
  • Chol 100mg
  • Iron 0.9mg
  • Sodium 399mg
  • Calc 32mg
