Bacon, Lettuce and Fried Green Tomato Sandwich

Bacon, Lettuce and Fried Green Tomato Sandwich

     I debated long and hard about whether this was actually going to be a post or not, mainly due to the lack of pictures. You see, when we started prepping dinner last night, I had no plans on making this a post. Then out of habit, I grabbed the camera and snapped a few pics (but not nearly enough). But once I took a bite, I knew that I had to share this with you guys. If you ♥ bacon (and who doesn’t?), and you ♥ BLTs, then you have to try one with fried green tomatoes. You will do a happy dance and you can come back and thank me later. ;)

     I’ve never done anything with green tomatoes. Heck, I’ve never even seen them in a grocery store until last Sunday. Mrs. G spotted them and suggested we grab a few, maybe to fry up. My mind immediately took it one step further and suggested bacon, lettuce and fried green tomato sammiches! How could that not be a winner? I will give you one word of warning….do NOT buy them and let them sit around for a few days….they will start to turn red on ya, at least ours did. Buy ‘em and use them in a day or two.

Dredging station

Ingredients

(for 2 sandwiches)

  • one green tomato
  • bacon
  • lettuce
  • 1 cup of corn meal
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • one egg
  • 2/3 tbsp of milk
  • vegetable oil or canola oil
  • 4 pieces of toast
  • mayonnaise (use Duke’s if you can find it)
  • salt, pepper and cayenne pepper

Mmmmm…..BACON!!

Directions

  1. Slice the green tomato into ~ 1/2″ thick slices, salt and allow to sit for a few minutes.
  2. Set up your dredging station. In one bowl, you want 1/2 cup of flour. In the second bowl, beat 1 egg and ~ 2/3 tbsp of milk. In the third bowl, mix a cup of corn meal, salt , pepper and cayenne. (I didn’t measure, but I would guesstimate 1/4 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp pepper and 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper)
  3. Fry you bacon up (or bake it in the oven if that’s how you like to do it). I’m not going to include an amount of bacon. I’ll let your love of bacon decide how much is enough for you.
  4. Add your oil to a skillet (preferably cast iron), and heat to ~375.
  5. Dredge your tomatoes in the flour, dip them in the egg mixture and then into the cornmeal. Fry until a nice golden brown.
  6. Slather your toast with Duke’s mayo and build your sandwich with the bacon, lettuce and fried green tomatoes.

B,L and FGT Sammich!

     This was every bit as good as I hope it would be and better!! It was a little odd at first bite, not getting the cool, refreshing taste of a red tomato. But then you take that second bite and get that crispy crunch from the batter, a bit of tartness and the creamy texture of the warm tomato. It all works so well with the cool  lettuce, the crispy, salty bacon and the warm toast slathered in mayo. If you ♥ fried green tomatoes and BLTs, try pairing them together. You won’t be disappointed.

18 thoughts on “Bacon, Lettuce and Fried Green Tomato Sandwich

  1. Can you believe I’ve never tried fried green tomatoes? Now you’ve given me a good reason to give them a go. Thanks for grabbing the camera and turning into a post on the fly! :)

    • For years I heard people mention Duke’s, but it has just this year become widely available in Dallas and it makes all the difference! Mrs. G still prefer’s Kraft (I used to get Hellman’s), but since I do most of the shopping its now Duke’s.

    • And I like how you noticed it was bourbon and coke. Some people cook with wine, I cook with bourbon and coke. ;) Like I said, I wasn’t sure if this was going to be a post or not, otherwise I might have moved it out of the picture. Although the Unorthodox Epicure (Adam) thinks I should include my drink in all my posts like I used to when I started out. LOL

  2. I’m not sure that I’m really from the south, as I have never had a fried green tomato. The sandwich looks great and makes me think I need to try this.

Leave a Reply

