Pork Chops with a Whiskey BBQ Sauce

     Last week, I saw a post on the BBQ Bible forum from a friend of mine making the Pork T-bone with Whiskey BBQ Sauce from Weber’s Charcoal Grilling. It looked so good, I knew I wanted to try it out myself. Unfortunately, I don’t own a copy of that book. The great thing about the internet is that pretty much everything is out there if you know what you are looking for and how to do a search. So a few minutes of looking and I had a few recipes for it. I didn’t know if these were exactly the same, but I figured I would try one out. It’s not like I ever follow a recipe verbatim anyway.

Ingredients for the rub

Ingredients for the Rub

  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

In a small bowl, mix the ingredients together. Lightly coat the pork chops with oil and then season with the rub, pressing the spices into the meat. Allow the steaks to sit at room temperature for 20-30 minutes before grilling. (Make sure the pork chops are out of reach of any large dogs who are prone to counter surfing. He didn’t get them, but Olie was close when I had my back turned for a second.)

Rubbed and coming up to room temp

Ingredients for the Sauce

  • 1/3 cup bottled steak sauce
  • 1/3 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup whiskey
  • 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder

Add the ingredients to a saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat, reduce and simmer over low heat for 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Onto the grill at 475F.

     Set up your grill for direct cooking at a medium high heat. I let my Egg settle in at about 475F and added some pecan chunks for smoke as well as some apple wood chips. Grill the pork chops for about 8 minutes per side or until the internal temperature reaches 140 to 145, depending on how well done you like your pork.

Resting

Allow the chops to rest for 5 to 10 minutes after grilling and then serve with warm bbq sauce on the side.

Plated up

     I was a bit skeptical about how this dish was going to come out while making the sauce. I’m such a big fan of steak sauce, that I had to go to the store to buy some (what I’m trying to say here is that we never have any at the house, nor do we use it). And this sauce tasted strongly of A-1. Maybe I should have used a different steak sauce? I don’t know, but I wasn’t digging the flavor. The recipe I found also called for an aged Scotch Whiskey. Well, I also didn’t have that on hand so I just used some bourbon that we did have. I can see where the Scotch Whiskey could have added some smoke flavor to the sauce. All doubts aside, I tried the pork chop with the sauce and it actually worked out ok. The sauce seemed to compliment the flavors of the pork and the ingredients of the rub. The addition of the ground cloves added a nice touch and the cayenne (original recipe called for a pinch) added just the right amount of heat. I served it up with some Texas Ranchero beans from Bush’s Grillin’ Beans line and corn on the cob.

     Would I do it again? I’m not really sure. I wasn’t really sold on the sauce. It tasted too much like steak sauce and I think next time, I’ll pass and save the bourbon for the cook. The rub worked, so I might keep that, maybe tweak it a bit. I’m still a big fan of brining pork chops, though. I think it helps keep the chop moist and juicy, so if I did do it again, I think I would incorporate that step into the process. As for Mrs. G….she took one taste of the sauce, shook her head and walked away without putting any on her plate. I’ll let you interpret that how you will.

 

