New Addition to the Family

The Mini’s new home next to our Large

Its been so hard keeping this under my hat. I actually ordered a Mini Egg a month ago, but didn’t want to let the cat out of the bag until I took delivery of it. Let me tell you, that month dragged by for me. The problem is our Egg dealer lives across the state….and by across the state I mean ACROSS the state. Really far away. To get my large Egg, I had to drive to Corpus. For this one, we had to drive to Hunt, Texas. I know there are closer dealers, but this just happens to be Mrs. G’s best friend, so I’d rather give my business to them.

All that being said, I think I must have one of the best Egg Dealers in Texas, if not the world. How many other Egg Dealers will invite you to their River Cabin for a four-day weekend of cooking out, visiting wineries, watching football and drinking just so they can deliver your Egg in person? Of course, it may help that Mrs. G has been best friends with Mrs. O forever. It also might have had something to do with it being Mrs. O’s birthday weekend as well, but that’s beside the point…

Thursday we were on the road to Hunt, Texas with the skyline of Dallas in our rearview mirrors by 1:45. We took the backroads down, traveling through Cleburne, Hico, Lampasas, Marble Falls, Fredericksburg, Kerrville and finally arrived just outside of Hunt, Texas in time for dinner. Mrs. O and her husband had carne guisada and Mexican rice waiting for us as we rolled in at dinner time….one of the few meals of the weekend that was not Egged, but still oh so delicious. (Maybe some day I can get the recipe out of her or have her guest post it…hint, hint Mrs. O  ;)  )

After dinner, Mr. O and I got started putting my new Mini together.

Where do these parts go? I don’t need no stinking instructions!!

While we were hard at work, the women folk enjoyed a cold beverage outside on the patio.

“I can’t believe they are inside putting it together tonight. They couldn’t even wait till tomorrow. I know, right? Boys and their toys.” At least, that’s how I pictured their conversation going.

Actually it wasn’t that hard to put together, nor did it take that long.

Mr. O and I standing behind our Mini Eggs

Nothing got cooked that night, as we had already eaten and it was late, so we enjoyed a few cold beverages before turning in for the night.

Firing the Mini up for the first time

You maybe wondering why I bought a Mini Egg if I already had a large one. Actually, there are quite a few good reasons:

  1. Portability – much easier to move around than a large. Now, we can take it to the ranch, camping or tailgating.
  2. Fuel Efficient – the Mini seems to burn less charcoal than a large (at least it seems that way to me so far). Often, it’s just me and Mrs. G cooking for ourselves. The Mini is big enough to meet the needs for these small cooks and we won’t use as much charcoal.
  3. Quicker – the Mini comes up to temp faster than the large so we can start cooking faster.
  4. Flexibility – with two Eggs, we can cook different foods on each that require different temperatures. For example, we can have a brisket (or butts or ribs) going along on the Egg at 250 for dinner. If we get hungry for lunch, we can fire up the Mini for burgers or hot dogs. Or we can prepare small side dishes on the Mini. It just allows for more options.

Side by side size comparison

Tons of food got cooked this past weekend. Way more than I can include in one post, so stay tuned throughout the week to see how well the Mini cooked and what we cooked on it. You won’t be disappointed.

 

20 thoughts on “New Addition to the Family

  1. Congrats on the new mini. I eventually want to add one, especially for its portability, but I’m seriously thinking about getting a second large in the near future.

    • I thought about getting a second large, but really wanted something portable and something for smaller cooks when its just the Mrs and I.

  2. Congrats on the safe arrival of the “wee” one.
    I also noticed a huge difference in the fuel consumption of a medium vs a large, the mini could probably cook with a tea candle.

  3. We are going to have to get us one of those green eggs! You have really sold us on the advantages of one. I find it admirable that you stay loyal to your small business owner…..we need to do more of that in today’s society! I really have to show Mr. Picky eater the smaller egg. We might try that one first!

  4. This is awesome! I’ve thought about what my next grill will be. We actually registered for a mini egg on our baby registry. Alas, no one bought it. I’ll be reading to see how it works for you!

    • That’s a bummer. I’ve now cooked on it 5 days in a row, two of those days being apps, lunch and dinner. We are living it so far. Got a lot of posts I need to get written up and posted.

  5. Minis are wonderful grills, but a bit pricey. I think for my next grill, I am going to stray away from BGE and Kamado style cookers. Maybe go with something old school. I recently found out that the very first grill I ever owned (some 16 years ago) is still in production. I’ve been thinking about picking one up to relive old memories.

Leave a Reply

