Mediterranean Cheese Focaccia Bread

     We’re all guilty of it. We all like getting free samples at the store. C’mon….admit it. No? Maybe its just me. Last week, I was at Sam’s procuring some ribs to smoke for a cousin that was going to be spending the night at our house. After finding the ribs, I was wandering around, seeing what else I possible NEEDED, when I heard a man giving out samples. This guy had his shtick down. He was rhyming, he was rapping, he was joking, basically he knew how to draw a crowd in and sell. And what was he selling? Focaccia Bread. He had all kinds of flavors. There was a sun-dried tomato version, Mediterranean cheese version, cheese and jalapeno and one more. Sorry, can’t think of what it is now.

Mediterranean Cheese Focaccia

     The focaccia breads were tasty. He was serving them up hot, they were light and fluffy and the flavors were…well, they were good, but not out of this world. Nothing really to write home about, but I was getting an idea. Why not take them and expand on them? Make them like a mini pizza and add extra toppings to them? They would be great for an appetizer or a quick dinner.

Out of the package

     As you can see, they are already cooked and just need to be warmed up to be eaten. They can be stored in the refrigerator for up to a week or frozen for later use. They might work ok as a bread with a main entrée, but in no way would that be a dinner by itself.

Topped and ready to bake

     Keeping with the Mediterranean theme, I opted to top mine with some mozzarella cheese, a bit of feta cheese and some olives. I heated up my Mini Egg to 450, allowed a pizza stone to warm up on it and then placed my focaccia bread on top of that.

Cooking away on the Mini Egg

     I took a seat outside next to the Egg with a cold beverage in hand, relaxing, reading my Kindle, while the dogs played and enjoyed a bit of the evening. My plan was to cook the focaccia for about 8 to 10 minutes, like we cooked our pizzas the weekend before, but somewhere in that time, I began to smell something burning.

Whoops

     Yeah…I screw things up. All the time. More than I would like to admit, just ask Mrs. G.  Guess I should have read the instructions on how to warm up the focaccia bread. Did you just go up and glance at the first picture of the packaged focaccia bread looking for instructions? If not, I’ll save you the time and go ahead and tell you. 400F for 2-3 minutes. Whoops. Good thing Mrs. G was having a night out with some of her co-workers. Since they were pretty cheap and there were about 6 per package, I decided to start again,this time following the instructions.

2nd attempt

 

     Sometimes it pays to read the directions and not think you know everything.

Much better result

     Turned out pretty good for what should have been a 5-10 minute preparation and cook dinner. Much better than any frozen pizza you will ever find.  I think it would be a great teaser to fend off any hungry guests while grilling up your main entrée or a quick “I don’t feel like cooking” dinner. Think when we get through these ones, I might go and try the sun-dried tomato ones. And maybe next time, I’ll just stick them under the broiler to warm them up a bit and melt the cheese. The Egg really wasn’t needed, just wanted to play with my new toy.

     Before you go, one last thing. The DAD’s Chili Throwdown is almost over and it’s coming down to the wire. While I may have started out strong, it’s now getting close. If you haven’t already gone over and voted, I would greatly appreciate it. While you are there, don’t forget to register to win a 6.5qt Cast Iron Dutch Oven that retails at over $150. It wouldn’t upset me one bit if you asked the love of your life, your kids, your friends, your yard guy or poolman or the checkout guy at the grocery store to go ahead and vote for me as well. I can use all the help I can get.

 

 

 

