Bacon Blue Cheese Grilled Potato Salad. Kind of a mouthful, huh? Thought about about adding in red and purple but figured that would be way too long.

Bacon Blue Cheese Grilled Potato Salad. Kind of a mouthful, huh? Thought about adding the adjectives red and purple but figured that would be way too long.

     A few weeks back, I was talking to my good buddy Mr. Grayson on the phone. He mentioned that the day before he had made one of my rib recipes and he and the wife really enjoyed them (at least that’s how I choose to remember the conversation). He went on to say that he was surprised that we didn’t have any potato salad recipes on our blog.

Always nice to sit down and relax with a cold beer while waiting for the grill to pre-heat.

Always nice to sit down and relax with a cold beer while waiting for the grill to pre-heat.

     Well, there’s a bit of a story behind that. While I like potatoes, I’m not the biggest fan of potato salad. They are usually ok, but nothing spectacular as far as I’m concerned. Mrs. G is very particular about her potato salad. She’s likes the one her Mom handed down to her for an Alabama mashed potato salad recipe (which if I can get permission I’ll get posted up here next time we make it, I promise). For those two reasons, we always make hers and I haven’t tried my hand at coming up with anything before now.

Red and purple potatoes give this potato salad an nice color contrast.

Red and purple potatoes give this potato salad a nice color contrast.

     Mr. Grayson’s comment stuck with me, though. I should try and come up with something of my own, but there should be certain elements included. One, some part of it had to be grilled because that’s how we do it here at Griffin’s Grub. Two, it should include bacon because you know what they say about bacon.  And three, it should be cool and creamy. Nothing wrong with warm potato salads or ones with vinaigrette dressing, I just prefer cool and creamy, especially when it’s hot outside).  This is what I ended up with and I’m pretty proud of it if I do say so myself. :)

Taters par-boiled, sliced and ready for the grill.

Taters par-boiled, sliced and almost ready for the grill. Just need to be tossed with some oil and salt and pepper.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lbs red potatoes
  • 1.5 lbs of purple potatoes
  • 5 strips of bacon
  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 Tbsp vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 green onions
  • 1 cup of blue cheese (about 5 oz)
Grill the potatoes around 450-475 until golden brown.

Grill the potatoes around 450 until golden brown.

Directions

  1. Scrub potatoes and place in a pot. Cover with water and add 1 Tbsp of salt. Bring the water to a boil and allow to cook for 10 minutes or until they just start to become soft.
  2. While potatoes are cooking, now would be a good time to cook the bacon until crispy. Allow to cool and roughly chop or crumble the bacon.  It would also be a good time to mix together the mayonnaise, sour cream, vinegar and salt and pepper. Place in fridge to chill.
  3. Drain potatoes and allow to cool.
  4. While potatoes are cooling, go outside and pre-heat your grill to around 450F. If you so choose, sit back and enjoy a nice cold beverage while you wait.
  5. Once your potatoes have cooled enough to handle, roughly chop them up (don’t worry if some of the skins fall off, especially with the purple potatoes). Depending on the size of the potatoes, you might want to quarter them, or you might want to cut them up further. Just make sure that you don’t cut them too small or you will struggle to keep them from falling through your grates. We’ll cut them up to smaller pieces once they we have finished grilling them.
  6. Toss the potatoes with a tablespoon or two of canola oil and some salt and pepper.
  7. Grill the potatoes for about 5 or 6 minutes per side until golden brown.
  8. Cut the grilled potatoes into bite sized portions and place in a large bowl
  9. Add the mayo-sour cream mixture, bacon, green onions (reserving some for garnish) and blue cheese. Gently fold the ingredients together. Can be served immediately, but best if allowed to chill in the refrigerator. While it is chilling, relax, have another cold beverage and then start grilling up the rest of your meal.
  10. Right before serving, sprinkle on the remaining green onions as garnish.
Perfectly grilled and ready to add to the tater salad.

Perfectly grilled and ready for the tater salad.

     You can see in the above picture that the potatoes are definitely not bite sized. You want to keep them large enough so that you  aren’t struggling to keep them from falling through the grates while you are turning them )If you have a grill basket or grill sheet, feel free to cut them smaller). Once you pull them from the grill, cut them into bite sized pieces.

All the remaining ingredients added in.

All the remaining ingredients added in.

     Bacon, blue cheese and potatoes, what’s not to like about that? Gently fold in the ingredients so you don’t break up the potatoes.

Gently fold in and then chill until dinner is served.

All mixed together  and ready to be chilled until dinner is served.

     Just about done. All it needs is time in the fridge to cool off. Looks good, doesn’t it? Go ahead and take a bite. I know you want to try them and I don’t blame you. Truth be told, I did at this point. ;)

Man can't live on tater salad alone no matter how good it is.

Man can’t live on tater salad alone no matter how good it is.

     While the potato salad is chillin’ in the fridge and the flavors are co-mingling, go ahead and get the rest of your dinner on the grill. Since it’s football season, we opted for some hatch chile cheese sausages and some wings…like I need an excuse to make wings? Buffalo wings are easy and always a hit around our house.

Garnish with a bit more green onions right before serving.

Garnish with a bit more green onions right before serving.

     The red and purple potatoes make a nice contrast. Throw in some green onions for garnish and you have a beautiful mixture of colors. If you can’t find purple potatoes in your area, it would be fine with just red potatoes, but it wouldn’t be as pretty. Feel free to play around and use any other kinds of potatoes you so desire. Yukon gold potatoes. Fingerling potatoes. Whatever your heart so desires.

My mouth is watering while looking at this picture and writing this post.

My mouth is watering while looking at this picture and writing this post.

 You know you want to try some. Between you and me, I’m glad there was enough left over to pack some in my lunch today.

Dinner is served!

Dinner is served!

     Along with the Buffalo wings and potato salad, we also had Mrs. G’s Brussel Sprouts. I’m not really sure how that fits in with the Game Day Theme, but I’m a big fan of them so I wasn’t going to argue. As you can see, we served it all up on our finest China. Hey…it’s football season! Who wants to be stuck in the kitchen doing extra dishes and missing them game?

     This just might be my new favorite potato salad. It was everything I hoped for. Grilled. Cool and creamy. And it contained bacon. Could you ask for anything more? A side benefit that I hadn’t even planned on was how well the blue cheese in it worked with the spiciness of the wings. Blue cheese dressing and wings are a classic combination, right? So is this potato salad and wings as far as I’m concerned. We’ll definitely be making this more, but first I’ll try and get that Alabama mashed potato salad recipe I was talking about earlier for you. Ahh, the things I do for you my readers. ;)

