Grilled Chicken Sandwiches

Sometimes it’s nice to step back from the fancy, schmancy, creative meals and just fix a quick, simple and some what healthy meal. I was rooting through the freezer and came across some chicken breasts. Not my favorite thing in the world to cook and I’m always trying to figure out something to do with them. Today, we just felt like an easy grilled chicken sandwich would be the way to go.

I like to pound my chicken breasts to an even thickness, about 1/4″, before grilling them. I find that they cook faster and more evenly by doing this, and don’t dry out. I then seasoned them with a mixture of John Henry’s Texas Chicken Tickler and some Dizzy Pig’s Swamp Venom (very similar to Tony Cachere’s and other Cajun seasonings, but with more flavor and more of a kick.) Then I threw them onto the Egg along with some mesquite chips for some smoke.

Chicken going on the Egg

Today I was using a new lump charcoal…well new to me anyways. I’ve never had this problem before, but lately, as the so-called “grilling season” is coming to an end, the grocery stores have not been restocking their lump charcoal. (If I haven’t said this before, the Egg uses natural lump charcoal, not the briquettes like you find in that common blue bag, which has all kinds of fillers and additives and nasty chemicals) When I was in Alberston’s, I spotted this bag. I’ve seen it before, but never paid any attention to it. Being desperate for some lump and not wanting to drive way out to my nearest bbq store, I took a closer look. $5.99 for an 8lb bag….that’s not to bad, so in the cart it went. ( I will tell you that I am quite happy with it and will be stocking up on it, just in case Albertson’s quits carrying it as we go into winter)

Official Cowboy's Lump

 Ok, so chicken’s on the Egg. Time for a little adult beverage.

Bloody Mary's

 After about 5 minutes, it was time to flip

Halfway Point

I tend to like a bit more heat to my food than my wife, and I like the taste of wings, so I decided to baste my breast with some wing sauce I had on hand. This stuff is not for the faint of heart…or tastebuds.

Crazy Uncle Jester’s Wing Sauce

Once the chicken was almost done, we sprayed some hamburger buns with Pam and through them on the grill to get toasty warm. You can see my breast on the top of the picture, with the red color from the wing sauce.

Almost Done

 We topped the chicken with some provolone cheese while it was still on the Egg so it would melt and then plated it up inside with some veggies and bacon. Everything’s better with bacon, right?

Ready to eat

Not the most fancy meal in the world, but sometimes simpler is better and it only took about 10 minutes to prepare.

11 thoughts on “Grilled Chicken Sandwiches

    1. Thank you for checking it out. I generally do chicken breasts in the 350-400 range. Exact cooking temperature isn’t quite as important as your final temperature. You want to cook chicken breasts to 165 for safety, any further than that you risk drying them out.

Leave a Reply

