Empanadas

I wasn’t originally going to post about my attempt at empanadas because I didn’t “bake” it in my Egg. After working all day, making a stop by the grocery store, mowing the yard and having a severe allergy attack, going outside to light the Egg and cook on it really didn’t sound appealing to me. Yesterday, I stumbled across a site http://adashofdomestic.wordpress.com/ and saw Jamie’s blog about Chili Cheese Pies. They sounded good to me and we had some leftover chili in the fridge from the other night. I told her I was going to attempt these and asked her some questions, so I didn’t want to let her down and not try them. So instead of cooking them on the Egg, I cooked them in that oversized kitchen clock thing some people refer to as an oven.

Empanadas

 Ingredients

  • Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts
  • one egg, beaten
  • stuffing of your choice
  1. Preheat your oven to 400.
  2. Remove pie crusts from refrigerator and allow to come to room temperature, about 15 minutes.
  3. Cut the pie crusts into circles. 3″ would make a good appetizer, I went about 6″ since they were going to be for dinner.
  4. Place the stuffing in the center of your circle.
  5. Using a pastry brush, coat half the edge of your circle with the egg wash and then fold the other side over.
  6. Using a fork, crimp the edges of the pastry shut.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes, then apply a thin coat of egg wash to the empanadas and continue baking for another 5 to 8 minutes or until the empanadas are golden brown.

I think these turned out really well. Are they authentic? No, not really, but they are tasty. And you can stuff them any way you want to. Your limited only by your imagination. We made 6 with leftover chili and cheddar cheese, and the other four we did had some marinara sauce, turkey pepperoni (my wife likes these as they are healthier) and 4 blend Italian cheese. I can even see how they would make good desserts. I will definitely try them again on the Egg and will probably be cooking them November 5th at the Plano Outlaw Eggfest. Thanks for taking a look and I hope you enjoy and thank you, Jamie, for inspiring this dinner.

6 thoughts on “Empanadas

  1. Yeah, I’m definitely going to try it out. I like the idea of the chili cheese… sort of reminds me of the chorizo calzones I whipped up on the BGE a few weeks back. I’m going to make Egret’s (from the egghead forum) recipe for chili soon…I’ll have to try this with the leftovers!

Leave a Reply

