First Cook At The New House

 

First cook at new house

 

I would like to apologize for the lack of new posts lately. As some of you may know, last week we moved into a new house. And before that was Thanksgiving, so even though we’ve been cooking a bit, it was nothing to blog about.  (I’d also like to apologize for the pictures in this post. They were all from my phone as I couldn’t find our camera.)

For the most part, I think the move went pretty well. This time we actually hired movers and they had us loaded into the truck and unloaded in just under 3 hours! Way faster than we would have been able to do it even with friends and family helping. So now all we have to do is get unpacked and settled in.

Here’s a couple of things about the new house that I think are just too cool.

Spice Rack

 No more digging around in the cabinet looking for spices. This pull out swivel spice rack is going to make things so much easier.

Easy to find BBQ spices

Our new pantry has swivel doors providing much more storage space than I thought would be possible given the size.

Pantry

 And finally a place to store all my “Eggcessories”

Bodi and Olie Checking Out The Shed

 Now, we have a nice covered (and lit) patio to hang out on and grill some grub. Not a big fan of the astro turf, but oh well.

Patio

  Unfortunately, everything did not go as well as planned. We bought a new fridge from Sears over 3.5 weeks ago and had scheduled to have it arrive on Friday, the day before we officially were to move in. Thursday night, Sears calls and confirms the delivery and even gives us a 2 hour window of when they were going to show up. Friday morning rolls around and I get a call at 7:30 AM and guess what…..they won’t be able to make the delivery! And the earliest they can make it is Sunday! I was livid! After much bitching and yelling, I was able to get the delivery charge waived, but that was all. Needless to say, I will not be buying from Sears again no matter how good their sale is. So with no fridge, we had to improvise.

Redneck Ice Chest

 For the first cook, I just kept it simple, since we had such a busy morning. I decided to go with chicken thighs as it’s an easy and quick cook. Four of them got rubbed down with Dizzy Pig Jamaican Firewalk ( a jerk inspired rub) and six of them got Cluck and Squeal’s All Purpose Rub. They went on to the Egg which was preheated to 400 on a raised grate using mesquite for smoke.

Firewalk to the left, Cluck and Squeal to the right

 Got a little busy and the chicken got a little higher than we usually go, but even at 180, chicken off the egg remains pretty juicy. (not to mention I like to cook dark meat a bit higher than the 165 I usually go to on white meat)

Chicken is done

 The chicken was served up with some macaroni salad, blue cheese potato salad and some chips and dips. Didn’t get any plated pictures as we were hungry and in the middle of the Baylor vs. UT game.

Now that we are in the new house, I’ll do my best to try to get back to posting more cooks. Thanks for looking and don’t forget to leave a comment.

8 thoughts on “First Cook At The New House

  1. Congrats on the new place! Great looking chicken too. I love the Jamaican Firewalk.

    You’re way ahead of me with the recent blog posts too. I’ve been so busy I haven’t been able to even think about blogging, and I didn’t move 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your new home! Most people hate moving but I love it. I enjoy rearranging stuff – just ask Leroy. He never knows where it is safe to walk. I am envious of your spice rack and pantry – awesome! Hope to see you in Salado.

  3. Jason, Congrats on the house! I do love the sliding racks, might have to search for those.
    Nice cook and covered patio also.

    Molly

    1. Thanks Molly. I really do love the spice racks. A lot of the undercabinets also have sliding drawers and I didn’t even take a picture of our bare for now wine rack. The covered patio is going to come in handy as well. Great for cooks in the rain or the rare snow we get in Dallas.

Leave a Reply

