Secret Santa Score

On a forum I belong to, www.greeneggers.com, every year they do a Secret Santa Gift Exchange. I saw it last year, but I was new to the forum and didn’t understand it. When I saw the pictures of the gifts people were giving and receiving, I was so jealous and I vowed that I would join in the fun in 2011.

Last night, I got home and found a large package on my doorstep. I was so excited. I quickly took the dogs out to take care of business and then rushed inside to rip open the package to see what awaited me.

Before I go into details, let me start off by saying my Secret Santa, aka Booking It on the forum, hails from a small town just north of Chicago. When I made out my wish list, the only thing I said was I would like rubs, spices or sauces from your neck of the woods, and that is exactly what she did. And it sounds like she had a great time collecting them from her letter. I wouldn’t be surprised if she got herself a few goodies in the process.

My Haul

 To start off with, she went to The Spice House, a store that hand grinds and mixes all their own spices. What she referred to as a spice lovers paradise. let me just say that the aromas coming from these bags made my mouth begin to water.

Rubs

 The first two rubs were a Back of the Yards Garlic Pepper Butcher’s Rub and a Northern Style BBQ Seasoning

More Rubs

 Then we have a Bronzeville Rib Rub and a Brisket of Love BBQ Rub.

Sauces

 Then we have Hecky’s BBQ Sauce, which if I’m not mistaken is a Cajun recipe, and Rick Bayless’ Roasted Chipotle Pineapple. You may remember him from Top Chef Master and he has/had? his own show for a while. He also has three restaurants in Chicago. I’ve tried some of his Frontera products before and they are really good.

More Sauces

 And finally we have SmoQue BBQ sauce, where Booking It says it’s the only place she will order brisket from in Chicago, and Lou Malnati’s Sweet Vinaigrette, which she says are good on salads, but she likes to use to marinade chicken before grilling it.

Booking It really did a great job. I can’t wait to try out all the new rubs and sauces. I just don’t know where to start….

I thought about including a photo of what I sent my person, but he/she hasn’t gotten it yet and I don’t want to ruin the surprise. That, and I forgot to take a picture. Hopefully they will post one up and I will share it with y’all. Hope he/she is as excited to receive their gift as I was mine.

Mrs. G and I would like to wish everybody a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

