Cherry Wood Smoke-Roasted Pork Tenderloin

After receiving my Secret Santa gifts on Wednesday, there was no doubt in my mind that I was going to try something out on Thursday (there was also no doubt in my wife’s mind. Lol) The question was what. Not enough time on a weeknight to smoke a brisket or a pork shoulder. I could probably squeeze in ribs if I tried the fast cook method, but I didn’t want to use one of my new rubs experimenting with technique. Then it hit me….pork tenderloin. It’s a nice, fast cook and better yet, its healthy….I think…I’m not sure why pork tenderloin doesn’t make it into our rotation more. Fast, cheap and healthy. What’s not to like?

You maybe asking what smoke-roasting is. When you smoke something, it generally involves temperatures around 250 and takes hours and hours. Pork tenderloins don’t need to cook for hours and hours as they do not have a lot of fat or connective tissue to break down. So we raise the temperature to 350 or higher (in this case I was cooking 400 dome temperature, which was about 375 grate level). But I still wanted a smoke flavor, so I used plenty of cherry wood chips and added more halfway through to achieve this.

Pork Tenderloin and Northern Style BBQ Seasoning

 On the way home from work, I stopped at the store and grabbed a pork tenderloin and some other fixin’s for the dinner. Now, I don’t know where you shop at, but down here, when you buy a pork tenderloin, they come in a package and there are usually two of them. I use my Foodsaver to seal and freeze one for later and the other one is enough for me and my wife….and then more for me for lunch the next day.

Representing Baylor

 Fall is a wonderful time of year. Love the color of the leaves in this picture, but took it more to honor my Baylor Bears. They’ve had a great year. Going to the Alamo Bowl (shoulda been the Sugar Bowl), RG3 wins the Heisman, Art Briles is nominated as a finalist for coach of the year and last night Quincy Acy became the 25th player to score 1000 career points in b-ball. Not to mention BU is 6th in nation and women are 1. But back to BBQ.

I set up the Egg for a direct cook at 400F using cherry wood chips for the smoke flavor. With this setup, the tenderloin should take about 20-25 minutes rolling it every 5 minutes or so. That should allow it to hit 140 IT and the resting period will allow it to carry over.

Pork on the Egg, rolled once

 You might notice some toothpicks in the above picture. Tenderloins taper off on one side, so to help even out the cook, I folded over the thin side and used toothpicks to hold it together so it would cook in a more uniformly fashion.

Sliced

 Look how moist and juicy that pork is. Yes folks…..a little pink in pork is now safe according to the FDA. It is safe to cook it to 145. Granted some of that pink is from the smoke. The right side of the picture was the thicker end and didn’t get quite as done as the thinner end, but that’s ok. We ate it and nothing bad happened. No need to be alarmed by pink pork anymore.

Plated Up

We served it up with some red beans and rice, broccoli that was sautéed up along with some roasted red peppers and a nice salad. To top it off was a nice Abita Amber.

I really need to thank my Elfster, Booking It. She really came through with the spices from The Spice House. The Northern Style BBQ Seasoning (I know, the name threw me too, what does the North know about bbq? lol) was phenomenal. Great bbq flavors, just  a hint of heat, it was great. Can’t wait to eat my leftovers for lunch. Thanks Kara.

2 thoughts on “Cherry Wood Smoke-Roasted Pork Tenderloin

Leave a Reply

