New Years @ The Ranch, Part 1

     We decided to get out of the city this year for New Year’s and celebrate it instead with close friends and family down at the in-law’s ranch outside of Goliad. Plan was for lots of BBQ, beer, guns and fireworks. Little did we know that county was in a burn ban and there were no fireworks to be had, oh well. Probably a good thing.

     We drove down from Dallas Friday afternoon and by the time we got there it was too late to cook anything, so we drove over to the Weesatche Cafe and had some dinner. Huge chicken fried steaks and great hamburgers….just what you expect from a place in the middle of nowhere Texas. Forgot to take any pictures, but if for some reason you are in Weesatche and feeling hunger gnawing at your insides, stop on by. Oh yeah….beers are $1.75!

     After dinner, we headed back to the ranch and started a little fire and those with a singing talent belted out a few tunes on the karaoke machine.

Hanging out by the fire
Cute couple, aren't they?

      The next day was New Years Day. When you are at the ranch, you get to sit back and relax as much as you want to, or not. Plenty of things to do. I went out and shot my new .270 with my future brother in-law, some people walked around and took pictures of nature, there was some horseback riding, some reading, some beer drinking, more shooting of guns, more beer drinking. You get the point.

     Dinner time starts to roll around and I get pulled in to help. First up was ABTs (Atomic Buffalo Turds or stuffed jalapeno as some people call them.) I take a jalapeno and cut it in half and de-vein and de-seed it. Then stuff it with cream cheese, add a little smokey, dust it with bbq rub of your choice. Then wrap it in half a piece of bacon which is held in place with a toothpick and dusted again with bbq. Throw those on the grill till the bacon crisps up. Mighty nice treat.

Atomic Buffalo Turds

   Sorry about the bad picture. I’m still trying to figure out how to take a good picture in the dark over a lit fire. I’ve cooked ABT’s hundreds of times, on gas grills, smokers, Big Green Eggs and Weber Kettles and let me tell you, they are much harder to cook over an open flame. But they still got done and were devoured in no time flat.

     After those were done, it was time to focus on the main course….Steaks! 9 steaks to be exact! Some rib eyes and some T-bones rubbed down with Dizzy Pig Cow Lick Seasoning, 4 links of jalapeno cheese venison sausage (I need to get the name of it, my future brother-in-law brought it and he gave me some more that’s at home in the fridge, man is it good!), and one lonely salmon for my cousin who doesn’t eat meat.

Main course

      The steaks were served up with baked potatoes, green bean casserole and a salad. I was so hungry I forgot to take a picture of it all plated up, but I can tell you there were some happy dogs afterwards.

Our little Yorkie, Bodi, went to town
Olie got in on the bone action as well

      After dinner, there was another lively round of karaoke as we waited for midnight and the New Year was rung in with champagne and toasts and lots of hugs and kisses. Somebody may even have fired off a shotgun (in a safe direction) but I won’t say who.

   There are plenty more pictures of the weekend, but I think I’ve rambled on long enough. Stay tuned for Part 2 tomorrow.

One thought on “New Years @ The Ranch, Part 1

  1. That sounds like an absolutely perfect way to bring in the New Year! 🙂 That’s some tasty lookin’ grub too! I’m so ticked off though that I didn’t get a chance to deer hunt this year…those venison brats look mighty good.

    My wife and I brought in the New Year by a little dancing, kissing and champagne as well. 😉

Leave a Reply

