Kasewurst – My First Attempt @ Making Sausage

This weekend, I tried my hand at making my first batch of sausage. I decided to make Kasewurst, a cheese sausage that has many variations throughout Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The original recipe I had for this was supposed to resemble a cured Bratwurst with the addition of cheese cubes and is similar to one from Switzerland that uses Emmenthaler or Swiss cheese.  Except I didn’t quite follow the directions. Fist, I omitted the cure opting to make it a fresh sausage and second I decided to use a sharp cheddar cheese instead. So was it still a Kasewurst? Or just a cheese sausage? I don’t really know, but I can tell you it was some mighty good stuff.

I will apologize right up front about the pictures. Mrs. G is still in NYC and she took the good camera, so I was stuck using an older one that I am not that familiar with. On top of that, I just didn’t get many pictures of the whole sausage making part. Sorry about that. I’ll try to take more next time.

 

Kasewurst - about halfway done making the sausage and this is what we had already

 

Kasewurst (or Cheese Sausage)

  • 5 lbs of pork butt
  • 10 oz cheese ( I used Cracker Barrell Sharp Cheddar)
  • 4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper, finely ground
  • 1 tsp granulated garlic
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 12 Tbsp milk
  • 1 cup powdered milk
  • * 1 tsp crushed red chilli pepper*
  • * 1/4 tsp cayenne*
  • * 1/4 tsp ancho chilli powder*

* optional ingredients depending on your heat tolerance

  1. Prepare 5 lbs of pork butt by deboning and cutting into 1 inch cubes. Place the meat into the freezer for 30 minutes to chill but not freeze. At this time, it would be a good idea to place the metal parts of the meat grinder into the freezer as well.
  2. While the meat is chilling, cut the cheese into 1/4 inch cubes and then refrigerate.
  3. After 30 minutes, grind the meat with a medium plate.
  4. Mix the seasonings, milk and powdered milk in a mixing bowl.
  5. Blend the meat and the seasonings well by kneading for about 3 minutes.
  6. Add in the cheese cubes to the paste and knead until they are distributed evenly. Refrigerate for up to 12 hours. At this point, it might be a good idea to take some of the sausage and fry it up on a skillet to check seasonings and adjust as necessary.
  7. Prepare hogs casings according to the package.
  8. Stuff the hog casings and twist the sausage rope into links.
  9. Grill sausage within 24 hours or freeze as this sausage is not cured. Make sure to heat until you reach 155-160 and allow carryover to 165.

 

Grilling up some sausage for quality control purposes

 

 I feel like at this point I should give a mention to my friend and teammate from Three Sheets BBQ (eventually we’ll get that all organized and start competing) Big Matt who came over and helped with the sausage stuffing. Neither of us have ever made sausage, but we quickly came to realize with my grinder/stuffer, it is definitely a two-man operation. We had a few blowouts in the beginning, but we soon hit our groove and cranked out that 5 lbs of sausage pretty quickly. Most of it was bagged and frozen, but we felt like we should grill up a few for quality control purposes. I lit the Egg and then threw the sausages on as it reached about 200F, so that they would slowly come up to temperature as the grill continued creeping up to 350F.

Sliced

 Keep an eye on the sausage as it cooks. You don’t want the skin to burst and lose all the juices, so you might need to flip and move it around the grill. I ended up adding my extra rack to lift it a little higher away from the flames to prevent this.

Bad picture, I tried 4x but couldn't get a picture to come out that wasn't blurry.

 I thought the sausage turned out amazing and I’m not sure I will ever buy sausage from a store again. Ok, maybe I will, but it won’t be as good as this. It had a nice snap from the hog casings. It had a nice bit of heat from the red pepper, ancho and cayenne, but it was not overpowering and the cheese complimented it nicely. I thought I might be biased about it since I made it, but Big Matt said it was probably one of the best sausages he had ever had and it had convinced him to go out and buy a grinder/stuffer so that he could start making his own as well. If that doesn’t speak volumes about the sausage, I don’t know what would.

At first, I was worried about making my own sausage. I thought it would be difficult and that I would probably screw it up. But thanks to plenty of research on the web, people’s advice like Mr. Holloway on Green Eggers and Kevin P on The Smoke Ring and Warren R. Anderson’s “Mastering the Craft of Making Sausage”, we made it through the first batch and it turned out to be pretty easy and quite a bit of fun. I still have a lot to learn, but I’m excited to make my next batch. What to try next? Maybe a Bratwurst or a Kielbasa….The possibilities are endless….

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Kasewurst – My First Attempt @ Making Sausage

  1. Really great job with the sausage! That’s something that’s on my “to do” list as well, but finding the time to try anything new has been an issue. I need to get a meat grinder anyway, even just to make my own ground meats for burgers, etc. Anyway, the sausage looks great. Especially for a first try.

    1. Thanks, Kenny. It was amazing. I know what you mean about the “to do” list. I crossed off another one on Friday night. I’ll post up about that one later. It was also good, but probably once was enough. I highly recommend gettting a grinder.

  2. The sausage is beautiful. I’ve made kielbasa with my father’s grinder and stuffer. It’s definitely a 2 person job. Where do you get your casings? I cannot get them where I live and have to order them. You’ve inspired me to get out the equipment and try it again.

    1. Thanks, Nina. I got the casings at Academy. They were the kind that are dried and packed in salt, but somebody suggested going to a butcher and getting them there. Might be worth looking into. Got any recipes you care to share?

  3. The pictures look better than you give them credit for. That sausage reminds me of the varieties made on the premises at Central Market on Lovers Lane in Dallas. I like the ingredients too. — Here’s some carryover from our conversation on my blog … Do you think you’ll ever try homemade hot dogs?

    1. Why thank you. I used to go to that one, but we moved last year, so now I have to travel up to the one at Coit and George Bush. Do I think I’ll ever make hot dogs? Hmmmm….hadn’t thought about that before. Maybe if I find a recipe….

  4. Shane is always helpful, isn’t he? What kind of equipment did you use?

    I have a Kitchenaid and attachments but the people I know that make sausage have all moved on from that to dedicated grinders and stuffers. I want to try making more sausages this year, I’ve only done it twice.

    1. I think so, my waistline would disagree.

      I got the Kitchener #12 that can be found at Northern Tools, similar to the LEM #8. I’ve only made that one batch. I did take it to 2 seperate bbqs this weekend and got rave reviews on it. Can’t wait to do more. I think next it will be an Italian sausage.

  5. Last night as I was laying in bed, I told my wife about your cheese sausage. She looked at me like I was odd, but I told her how DELISH it looked and convinced her we have to try it.

    A few questions:

    Your recipe calls for 5 lbs. of pork butt, is that with the bone, or is that meat only?

    And also…did you drink the wild turkey while you were making the sausage or after when it was cooked? 😉

    After I saw that you commented on my sausage, I had to come tell you that we’ll be making yours. You’ve inspired us to do it again. Because, it’s important in the food blog world to compliment each others skills…and you’ve got mad skills my friend! Thanks for sharing.

    1. That was with the bone still in, not sure how much it was after I removed the bone. I think you will like the sausage. I took some to a bbq Saturday and then some to a Super Bowl party and it got rave reviews from all.

      Drank it while I was making it and after. 🙂

      Thank you. I’ve been looking over your sight since I found it last night and like what I am seeing. You’ve got some crazy skills, too. How hard was the homemade tortillas? I’ve been wanting to try that for awhile. The carnitas look great as well.

      Have you heard of the Liebster Award? Have you gotten it yet?

      1. I have received the Liebster. But, thank you for asking. I saw that someone passed it along to you. Doesn’t it feel wonderful to be recognized by a fellow blogger? It’s the highest compliment!

        I spent a long time scouring your blog today. If you can make a fatty, you can make tortillas, which are only difficult because you have to let the dough rest. If you use the recipe with the lard, the dough rolls out easier than playdo.

        Thanks for the compliments. And I can’t wait to see more recipes on your site!

    1. It really is. I’m out of sausage right now and trying to figure out what to do next. Either a bratwusrt, jalapeno cheese or a chicken with basil, cheese and sun-dried tomatoes. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

