Pizza with a South of the Border Twist

Mexican Pizza

     Mrs. G went out of town yesterday. If you’ve been following along, you know what that means….diet goes out the window and I play around with food!! Usually something I think she won’t like (like grilled cheese hamburgers) or something she’s nixed in the past like this version of pizza.

     I remember seeing Mexican pizza when I was growing up. Never had it, oh no, we were more of a traditional pizza family. Pepperoni or maybe a supreme, meat lover’s if I got lucky. So I’d stare over at other tables and watch people eat their Mexican pizza and wonder what it would taste like. I’m not even sure if Mexican pizza was a nation wide thing or maybe it was just regional to South Texas. Seems like it’s not really around anymore, at least not that I’ve seen, but for some strange reason it popped up in my head the other day and no matter what I did, I could not shake the idea of making one. So after work yesterday, I got the necessary ingredients (at least the ones I thought should go on a Mexican pizza, but never having one I could be wrong) on the way home and fired up the Egg.

Blazing Hot

 One of the great things about the Big Green Egg is that you can get it hot. I mean blazing hot. Hotter than your oven hot. I generally cook my pizzas at about 650F. They cook up fast and you get that nice wood burning oven flavor to them. Here the Egg was only going about 600.

The Setup

 There are a few ways to set up your Egg to make pizzas. None of them are wrong, but this is how I like to do mine. Placesetter with the legs down, then use the 3 green ceramic feet to hold the pizza stone up above the placesetter. This allows air to circulate under the stone and allows it to heat up evenly.

Cooking up the taco meat

 Yes, I have a stove and sometimes I even use it. I cooked up the taco meat and used Old El Paso taco seasoning. Not the one we usually use, and I wish I knew how to make taco meat without a packet (maybe I’ll learn me how to do that one day) but for tonight’s purposes it would work.

Dough

Took another shortcut with the dough. Now I’ve made homemade dough before and its come out pretty good, but sometimes I don’t have the time or the will. So for those of you who also don’t have the time, or are a bit timid of the whole process, there’s an easy answer. Go down to your local Mom and Pop Italian restaurant and ask if they will sell you a ball of dough. Most places will. And if you are so inclined, they’ll usually sell you a cup of sauce. I didn’t get any sauce as I was going Mexican with this pizza.

Building the Pizza

 I didn’t roll this dough out very thin. I figured with the amount of toppings it was going to receive, I needed a good thick crust to hold up. Started out by spreading a layer of the taco meat on the dough.

Cheese, or queso for those Spanish speakers

 Next came the cheese. I don’t know what kind of cheese they used when I saw these growing up. I thought about maybe using some queso blanco or queso fresco or Chihuahua, but ended up just using some cheese I found in the fridge. A little bit of Mexican blend, some pizza blend (it is a pizza after all) and finally some extra sharp cheddar. Hey, that’s what this gringo uses on his tacos.

On to the Egg

 After I was done topping the pizza, it went on the Egg which I had stabilized at 500F. That’s a little lower than I usually do pizzas, but this was also a thicker crust than I usually go with, so I wanted to make sure it would cook all the way through without the crust burning on the bottom. You might also notice the paper under the pizza. That’s parchment paper and a little trick I picked up on Greeneggers Forum. It’s a good way to slide your pizza onto the stone without it sticking to your pizza peel (something which I don’t have anyway) or getting deformed. After a few minutes of cooking, you can grab an edge of it with your tongs and it will slide right out from under your pie.

Just about done

 So far the pie looks about normal, except with some taco meat on it. Now comes the toppings. A little bit of lettuce, some tomatoes, green onions and some jalapenos. I suppose you could use some black olives, but I’m not a big fan. Top it off with some sour cream and you are bueno. (like the use of my limited grasp of Spanish?)

Es hora de comer!

I honestly can’t believe how good this came out and I can’t believe I waited this long to try it. I will admit, it was a bit messy trying to eat, but it was worth it. And I got my salad in, so it’s not totally off my diet. 😉 If you are looking for new ideas for pizza, I would recommend this one. Hasta la proxima vez!

 

25 thoughts on “Pizza with a South of the Border Twist

  1. You totally had me going until you espoused more olive hate. *shakes head*

    You know what this reminds me of? Have you ever had Indian fry bread? OMG…best stuff in the world. This reminds me in appearance and ingredients of a HUGE Indian fry bread. I’m going to have to convince the home dwellers that we need to try this!

      1. You’re right. You should get points for suggesting the olives.

        Here’s a link about Indian fry bread: http://whatscookingamerica.net/History/NavajoFryBread.htm

        In NM, every year during the state fair, we would go to the Indian village and have Indian fry bread. It’s sort of similar to a sopapilla, on a grander scale, and topped with taco meat and fillings.

        I do have to add, I am thoroughly enjoying your blog. I think it is amazing that you are able to bang out amazing dishes on your BGE. These are things I’m not sure I could do in my oven, let alone, an outdoor cooking appliance/grill. Thanks for all of the wonderful recipes!

  2. Such an interesting looking oven, you must be a grill master! I love the consistency between the dough and the rest of the pizza… it looks perfect!

    1. Thank you. The Big Green Egg might be expensive up front, but considering it has a lifetime warranty on almost all the parts and that some people have been cooking on them for over 30 years, I think its worth it. We hardly even use the oven anymore.

  3. OK—I have a question about pizza stones and Egg-like cookers….do you have to get the expensive “Big Green Egg” pizza stone, or is there a way to mod a regular one. Haven’t made pizza in ours yet.

    BTW—this recipe sounds delicious!

    1. I would suggest getting the BGE one. It will stand up to the heat that your egg will put out. I’ve heard numerous horror stories of the Pampered Chef and William Sonoma stones cracking and even exploding. Not something you want to happen.

  4. Stupendous pizza, just wonderful. That thick crust looks like it would fill you up quickly but be well worth it. Ummm, you ‘forgot’ to put on the black olives 😉

    Got a pair of back ribs on my Egg this morning for the race. Don’t really care about the race but it’s a good excuse to bbq! Have a great weekend.

    1. Thank you Dara. I’ve owned many grills over the years, gas, charcoal, offset smokers and by far this one is my favorite. I actually gave my gas grill to my parents not long after getting the Egg and I took my smoker down to the in-laws ranch as neither were getting used any more. If you like to grill, I would highly recommend an Egg. Last grill you will ever buy, unless you get a second one to go along with it.

    1. Thank you. You should try it if you are looking for variations on pizza. The BGE is the best grill/smoker/oven/pizza oven you can buy, but that’s just my biased opinion.

Leave a Reply

