Stir Fry on the Big Green Egg

Stir Fry

 In an effort to try to eat healthier (and after seeing some really cool stir fries frys (?) that people have done on the Egg forums), last week we ordered a wok and a spider from The Ceramic Grill Store  (great guy and excellent customer service). Unfortunately, we didn’t have time to play around with it until last night. Mrs. G found an all-purpose stir fry sauce (brown garlic sauce) that she wanted to try.

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, combine soy sauce, broth, rice wine, sugar, sesame oil and white pepper.
  2. Dissolve the cornstarch in 1/4 cup water.
  3. Heat a pan over high heat; add the cooking oil, swirling to coat; add the garlic and ginger; cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 15 seconds.
  4. Add the soy sauce mixture; bring to a boil.
  5. Reduce heat to medium and cook for 1 minute.
  6. Add the cornstarch solution and cook, stirring, until the sauce boils and thickens.

Along with the sauce, we had 2 chicken breasts, some shrimp, half a red onion, some diced jalapeno, broccoli, baby bella mushrooms, baby corn, bamboo shoots and some rice noodles (prepared following package instructions). Unfortunately, I forgot to take any pictures of the ingredients prepped and ready to go. It’s very important that you have everything prepped and ready to go (mise en place), as once you get started, it goes pretty fast and you don’t have time to stop.

The Setup

 Searching around and asking questions on different forums gave me various ways on exactly how to set up the Egg and how to cook stir fry on it, so I ended up taking some advice here and there and just went with what made sense to me. I stabilized the Egg at 400F, then used the spider (rack that holds the wok) in the up position and then placed the wok on top of that. When doing stir fry, you want the wok to get hot, before you add the oil, as the pores in the metal will open up and allow the oil to penetrate creating a non-stick surface. So we closed the lid, waited a few minutes. When a few drops of water hitting the wok vaporize instantly, you are ready to go (so I’ve been told).

Chicken in

 Once the wok is hot enough, add a few teaspoons of peanut oil. The reason I used peanut oil, is that it has a high smoke/burn temp and we are cooking hot. You don’t want your oil to burn on you and ruin your meal. Next, add in your chicken. You want to do this part in batches. If you add too much chicken at one time, the temp of the wok will cool down and you will be steaming your food rather than frying it.

Notice the welders glove? Talk about some heat!

After the chicken is done, it is time to start on the vegetables. You want to start with the hardier veggies, the ones that take more time to cook. We added in the broccoli, red onions and jalapenos and cooked those for a few minutes.

'Shrooms up

 The baby bellas were next to go in the mix for a few minutes.

Rest of the veggies

 Then we added the last of the veggies, some snow peas, baby corn and  bamboo shoots. This is already starting to look like way too much food for two people. Guess it will be leftovers for tomorrow.

Gettin' Saucey!

 I know this seems like a lot of steps, but it really goes quickly, trust me. Next add in the shrimp and a few heaping spoons of the brown garlic sauce. Cook until shrimp are almost done.

Add the chicken back in

 Almost done now, the end is in sight. Add the chicken back in to the wok.

Rice noodles

 Final step, add the rice noodles and cook until they are just warm.

 

Ready to eat!

 For a first attempt, we did pretty good IMHO. It was definitely a fun and interesting cook. The veggies came out just right, they still had a nice bite to them, not at all mushy. The rice noodles were an excellent addition. We didn’t over cook the shrimp, which is so easy to do. My only complaint was I thought the sauce was a little bland. Might need to adjust the recipe with some red chile flakes or peppers or maybe some Sriracha. We’ve already decided that we’re going to try to do stir fry again tomorrow night, but I think we are going to increase the temp a bit more, maybe 450-500F.

If you are on the fence about doing stir fry, I hope this post pushes you over and convinces you to try your hand at it. There might be a lot of steps, but it really is a fast, quick and healthy way to cook.

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Stir Fry on the Big Green Egg

  1. Looks fantastic! Gotta love that kind of heat for cooking on a wok. I need to get some new welding gloves before I can use my wok again. They are an absolute necessity when wokking (is that a word?) on the egg.

  2. No problem. Glad I could be of some help! I really enjoy cooking on my wok, but it’s been far too long since I’ve used it – over a year. The cooking really does go quickly, and I think it is far easier than many imagine it to be. The real work is the preparation, and the actual cooking goes by so fast it’ll make your head spin lol

    Good luck experimenting, and I really do recommend that book. I think you’ll find it a great source of information.

    1. Not real sure, Adam. I had the Egg stabilized at 400F according to the thermometer in the dome, but we all know how well those work, especially when you are cooking much closer to the heat than the thermometer is. Much higher than 400F for sure. And then once we started, we never closed the lid, so the lump charcoal was getting plenty of air and really took off. I should have looked at the thermometer when we were done and I closed the lid. Let’s just say way in excess of 400 and welders gloves were a necessity.

  3. Great looking recipe. And I’m still blown away that it’s done on the BGE!

    I am definitely going to try this one out at home, but I’ll take your advice and add some red pepper flakes.

    I love the way you mixed the chicken and the shrimp!

    I do notice you didn’t serve any olives with this meal. That’s a little odd to me…

    1. It can pretty much do anything, but I think I’m gonna give it a night off and see if Mrs. G will cook something for me…

      I added the shrimp only because I found a bag of them in the freezer and there weren’t really enough to do a meal with.

      Not sure that olives are really a traditional stir fry item. Might have to work out a recipe with some in it in the near future, just for you. 😉

  4. Excellent job, Griffin! I think you sold me on the wok and spider. One question: Do you think that it added additional flavor being cooked on the BGE vs. indoors? Even if it didn’t, it’s still always more fun cooking outside. 😉

    1. I don’t think it added any more flavor, but the Egg will get a lot hotter (as you know) and true stir fry should be cooked over high heat so all the nutrients don’t get cooked out of the veggies. Now go out and get one. You know you want to….

      1. Yeah, traditional wok stoves get much hotter than the normal American residential stove does. On the BGE you can duplicate that heat.

  5. Do you notice a big difference in taste when stir-frying on the BGE vs indoors? I know some things on the Egg are way better than when cooked indoors, but I never got that feeling with stir-fry.

    Either way, yeah, that looks amazing.

    1. No, there really wasn’t any taste difference doing it on the BGE. The real benefit is the heat you can achieve. Normal stove tops just can’t generate the heat that traditional wok stoves can. You want that heat so that you can cook your vegetables quicker thereby not losing all the nutrients. Plus its just funner (i know, not a word) to cook over fire.

  6. I have never done a stir fry over an open flame, but I love the sound of it! We cant get enough of stir frys in this house so every and all adaptations are welcome!

  7. We tried this tonight and it was wonderful! Love the sauce! We have made a different stir-fry on our old Weber charcoal grill, but this was the first on the BGE – by far the best. Great job with sharing this one!
    And I took a picture of the ingredients for you but I can’t seem to post it. 😒

Leave a Reply

