Szechuan Shrimp

     Mrs. G and I used to have a tradition. On Sunday nights, we would order Chinese food. OK…not the greatest tradition, but it was our thing. I’d ask her what she wanted for dinner and she would reply “I don’t know”, then she ask me and I’d say the same thing. Then we’d discuss whether we even felt like cooking and were we going to have to go to the store to get something. And in the end, we’d just call up our favorite Chinese place and the food would be at our house in 15 minutes. That’s right….15 minutes! I’m not kidding, they were super fast. I can’t even begin to think how many times we ordered from that place. But now we have our own wok and have started to make our own Chinese food. It might now always be traditional, and it’s not as easy as picking up a phone, but it sure is fun.

The Raws

      We’ve been doing quite a bit of stir fry ever since we got our wok a few weeks back. It’s a very healthy cook with all of the vegetables and lean meats that are used. And it’s also pretty easy once you get the hang of it (not to mention much cheaper than ordering out).

Mise En Place

     Last night we decided to do a Szechuan Shrimp stir fry using what we already had in the fridge. We had some carrots, red bell peppers, red and green onions and some shrimp. I don’t believe snow peas are traditionally included in Szechuan, but we had them and Mrs. G and I both like them, so why not? I got the Egg ready to go and stabilized at 600F last night. Hotter than we’ve been going (and to tell you the truth, I think it was a bit too hot. Think we’ll back it down to 500-550F next time)

First Batch of Veggies

     First in were the red bell peppers as they seem to take the longest to cook. About a minute later, we added the onions. The carrots went in after another minute. To that we added a few splashes of Szechuan Spicy Stir Fry Sauce. (I have found some recipes to make this sauce at home, and some day I will, but I’m still having some trouble locating all the ingredients. I guess its time to hit up an Asian market.)

Shrimp and Rice Noodles into the mix

     After allowing the veggies to stir fry for a few minutes, we added in the shrimp and rice noodles (that had been pre-prepared according to directions on the box) along with a few more splashes of the Szechuan Sauce. Continue moving the shrimp and veggies around until the shrimp begin to turn a pink color.

Ready to Grub

     The shrimp was garnished with some of the tips of the green onions and some sesame seeds and was served up with some egg rolls and some Kirin Ichiban to wash it all down.

     So was it as easy as ordering Chinese? No, but we got to spend time together outside on the patio in shorts and flip-flops no less while the dogs got to run around. And it sure was cheaper, not to mention healthier (at least I think it was). I’m sure our days of ordering aren’t over, but sometimes its more enjoyable to do it yourself.

22 thoughts on “Szechuan Shrimp

  1. WHOA! That looks AMAZING!!!!

    I am not too crazy about ordering Chinese food. If they can have it at my door in 15 min then it’s a problem! lol God only knows what’s in that food. I prefer to whip out my wok and start woking! 😀

    If only I had your grill! That would be the icing on my cake!

    Elena
    ThePoshLatinCook.com

  2. Can’t go wrong with fast healthy Chinese food. Love the recipe ( although I would like it a lot more spicy LOL), and love the fact that you cooked it in a wok over a big open fire.

  3. Ha I’m glad we’re not the only ones that have that what do you want conversation! It always comes back to Chinese! This sounds incredible, I love those rice noodles! The shrimp looks fantastic and whatever you have the wok over is awesome!

    1. Thanks. Using your BGE to wok is so much fun. My wife brought your blog to my attention yesterday. The mountain meatballs look really good. Hope I can try to make them this weekend. Can’t wait to check out your site more.

    1. Thyank you, Jackie. The wok is still a new to us thing. We got it last month and have used it 3 or 4 things. I’ve got plenty of ideas of things to experiment with. Kung Pao and fried rice to name a few.

Leave a Reply

