Simple White Bread for a Bread Machine

White Bread

     Bread. One of my favorite foods. Something that belongs with every meal, in some form or another, in my opinion. Something that has fascinated me for a while. The yeast. The fermentation. The rise. Something that I just don’t have time to get involved in as much as I want to. I mean common!! It takes hours and hours and who has that time after getting home from work? I know I don’t. Maybe I should make an effort to try some on the weekends….     

     Last night, we were planning on having BLTs for dinner. Who doesn’t like a BLT? The toasted bread. The salty, smokey goodness of bacon. Crisp, refreshing lettuce and juicy tomatoes. A perfect combination. And then I get home…..and what do I find? A ripped up bag of bread on the kitchen floor! Now, I don’t know how he did it, but I am convinced that Bodi, our Yorkie, somehow managed to pull this off. Maybe he can jump higher than we thought. Maybe he has super powers and can fly….or levitate objects with his mind. It absolutely, positively could not have been Oliver, our German Shepherd, who got it down. Not sweet, innocent lil Olie. He would never do anything like that.     

    So I was faced with two options. Go to the store, which I had already done twice this week and I did not want to face again, or figure out how to whip up some bread. Ok, there could have been an option 3, get fast food or delivery, but I wasn’t feeling that. I wanted BLTs! A quick scour of the internet and whaddya know….there are recipes for bread for bread machines on there!! Who knew? So you mean I don’t have to buy a box mix? And I actually have all the ingredients on hand? (I bet you do, too, except maybe the yeast) Awesome! 

White Bread

Ingredients

1 cup warm water (110F)

3 tbsp white sugar

1 ½ tsp salt

3 tbsp vegetable oil

3 cups flour

2 ¼ tsp active dry yeast

Directions

1. Place water, sugar, salt, oil, flour and yeast into pan of bread machine

2. Bake on White Bread Setting (Light Crust). Cool on wire rack before slicing.

     How simple is that? Dump it all in and turn it on. Even an idiot I can do that. No kneading the dough, no waiting for the rise and punching it down. Simple, simple, simple. I’m no expert on bread machines, so I can’t tell you how long it will take with yours, but for mine, it took 2 hours and 40 minutes, which gave me time to knock some things off the honey-do list and sit down and watch a bit of tv while waiting for Mrs. G to get home.

     From now on this will be my go to bread recipe. It makes a 1.5 lb loaf of bread, perfect for two people or a small family. It is light and airy, yet packs plenty of flavor without containing any preservatives or extra chemicals. Best of all, it fills the house with that aroma of fresh baked bread. And those BLTs we were talking about earlier….even better on home-made bread!

BLTs

    So if you like fresh, warm bread and happen to have a bread machine, I recommend you try this recipe for white bread. Simple, easy, delicious.

 

5 thoughts on “Simple White Bread for a Bread Machine

Leave a Reply

