Charbroiled Oysters

Fresh Oysters on the Grill

     Oysters. Really….oysters. Look at them. They aren’t very appealing to look at. They are slimy, grey, moist things with a salty brine smell and do not look appetizing at all. I often wonder who the first person was who worked up the courage to eat one. I’m pretty sure there was a bet involved with his best friend.  All that being said….I love ’em!! Have ever since I was a kid. Raw, Rockefeller, in pasta, soups, gumbo. Anyway you fix them (except fried, it does something weird to the texture that I just don’t like). And maybe my favorite way of all….grilled or charbroiled.

     If you haven’t been to New Orleans and eaten Charbroiled Oysters, you really do not know what you are missing. I was lucky enough to try them last year on a trip down there with Mrs. G and some friends and have not been able to get them out of my mind since. There are a few places you can get them, Drago’s or Acme Oyster House probably being the most famous. Well this weekend, we decided to try to tackle them ourselves.

     We were in Central Market trying to find some seafood to cook up for dinner when we spotted the oysters. Not exactly cheap and since we’ve never done them before, we only grabbed four to try out….just in case.  I got the Egg fired up and ready to cook at 450F.

Adding the garlic butter mixture.

     These oysters were already shucked for us and had a pat of garlic butter mixture on them (next time I’ll probably make up my own). I removed the butter as I wanted them to cook for a few minutes by themselves with out it.  Place the oysters on the grate,  making sure to sit them as level as possible. After about two minutes, when the oysters began to curl up a bit on the edges I added the butter.

Butter melting

     Allow the oysters to cook for a few more minutes and the butter to melt. All the butter will not stay in the shell and some will leak out causing flare ups. Do not worry. You want this to happen as it will add extra flavor to your oysters.

Adding the parmesan cheese

    After a few more minutes, its time to add the cheese. We opted for grated parmesan cheese (as it’s what we had on hand). Use a good quality fresh parmesan cheese. You don’t want to use the “stuff” in the green can for this.

Mmmm…cheese!

     Allow a few more minutes for the cheese to begin to melt before removing with tongs. Try and keep them level so you don’t lose any of the butter or cheese at this point.

Removing the oysters

     Give the oysters a few minutes to cool before eating. Ours were literally boiling in their shells at this point, but once they cooled off they were devoured in seconds! One of the greatest bites of food I have made in a long time! Was amazed that something so simple could taste so good.

A few things I would change next time I would do them:

  1. Buy MORE oysters. 2 a person (even if it was just an appetizer) was not nearly enough.
  2. Make my own butter sauce
  3. Make my own cheese mixture of parmesan, romano and parsley to go on top
  4. Have some French bread to soak up the sauce.

I know we will be making these again (and soon), and when I do and as I work on getting a recipe down and perfected, I will come back and revisit these for you and share with you how we improve on them. But I was just so excited about them that I had to share them with you right this minute.

Later we played some Giant Jenga and even Bodi got into the action.

 

18 thoughts on “Charbroiled Oysters

  1. I love oysters, and I too have had that same thought….who was the first person to eat them. In my mind’s eye, it’s some lonely bugger that got lost from his family and is starving to death and pries one open in total disgust but is starving nonetheless and then begrudgingly slurps it down and then has that deer caught in the headlights look of sheer and utter surprise when he realizes how amazing they are! I definitely want to try this……I actually have a barbecue this weekend….(yay!) and let’s see how it turns out! Thanks for posting, would have never thought of them myself!

      1. Griff,
        I really enjoy reading your posts and look forward to them every day (or whenever you put them up)!
        Thanks for this idea, I’ll try it next weekend, already have a full menu planned for this weekend!

      2. Thanks, Scott. I’m glad you like them. I usually try to get up at least 2 posts a week, think I’m gonna fail at that this week. Oh well, sometimes life gets busy. Let me know how your oysters come out.

  2. Bodi is SOOOOOOOOO cute! I want a Bodi!

    I love oysters. But, I prefer mine raw, with a dab or horseradish and some cocktail sauce. Mmmm…

    1. Thanks, Jen. We call him our Little Monkey or our Little Monster as well. A complete furry ball of love. He’s actually a Yorkie we rescued from a shelter.

      Raw is good, too, but if you haven’t tried charbroiled, you really need to.

  3. Glad you tried them! When we charbroil ours, we shuck them ourselves. 😦 Very labor-intensive.
    We also fill a squeezable condiment bottle with the garlic/butter mixture to make it easy to shoot it onto each individual oyster. Then top them with parmesan and fresh parsley. (my mouth is watering just thinking about them and looking at your pics!) 😉

    Also, you are so dead on: french bread for dipping is a must!

  4. Here is what we use and it’s suppose to be Drago’s recipe. It is very good!
    Also a while back someone posted a really nice oyster grilling rack for the grill. It’s super nice if you don’t have oysters in the shell. Just buy a pint/gallon and drop them in this rack thingy. I’ll try and find the link, it was on the BGE forum.

    2 lb. butter, softened
    •1/2 cup finely chopped fresh garlic
    •1 Tbs. black pepper
    •1 tsp. dried Italian seasoning
    •6 dozen oysters on the half shell
    •1 cup grated Parmesan and Romano cheeses, mixed
    •3 Tbs. chopped parsley

  5. I need to try them this way. Normally we just roast them over the coals until they pop open their shell. I always preferred St Augustine oysters to Apalachicola ones (the two varieties in Florida). I remember the saying that you are only supposed to eat oysters in months with an “r” in them due to bacteria in water or something. Is that an old wive’s tale? I wonder if it used to be true and no longer is (like trichinosis in farm hogs).

Leave a Reply

