A Pina Colada for National Rum Day

All the players

     Today is National Rum Day!! A whole day to celebrate that often overlooked alcohol that reminds everybody of sitting on a tropical beach in the Caribbean, warm sand between your toes, the briny smell of the ocean on the breeze, the sound of waves gently lapping at the shore as the sun beats down on your body. Makes me want to book a ticket right now.

If you like Pina Coladas,

     Rum is a distilled alcoholic beverage made from sugarcane byproducts such as molasses, or directly from sugar cane juice, by a process of fermentation and distillation. The liquid is then usually aged in oak barrels. The majority of the world’s rum production occurs in the Caribbean and Latin America.

And getting caught in the rain,

     Rum can be categorized by these general categories: light (silver or white, often used in cocktails), gold, dark, spiced, flavored, overproof and premium. What’s the difference between all these? I don’t know, I’m more of a bourbon man myself, but you can look it up. Most people in America are familiar with the first three (and maybe coconut rum which would fall under flavored), but lately premium rums (generally for sipping) have gained in popularity.

If you’re not into yoga, if you have half-a-brain,

     Most rum drinks are sweet, a combination resulting from the sugar the rum is made from and the mixers used with it. Some common rum drinks you maybe familiar with are the rum punch, Cuba Libre, daiquiris, Mai Tais, the zombie, pina coladas, mojitos, rum toddy, hot buttered rum, Dark ‘N’ Stormy and the painkiller.

If you like making love at midnight

     For you, my loyal readers, I decided to focus my efforts into finding a killer Pina Colada recipe. I know, I know….it took a lot of hard work and sacrifice on my part, but I care about you guys so much, I was willing to go through with it. Lots of research was undertaken. Should I use a light rum or a dark rum? Maybe a combination of both? Coconut milk, water or cream of coconut? All kinds of factors were taken into consideration and many variations were tried out all for the common good (well, as many as I could put down before I couldn’t stand the sweetness anymore and switched over to my beloved bourbon and coke) and this is what we came up with.

Ingredients

  • 2 oz Coco Lopez Cream of Coconut
  • 2 oz pineapple juice
  • 1.5 oz white rum
  • 1 to 2 cups of ice

Directions

  • Pour into a blender, turn on blender, pour into a Hurricane glass and repeat.
  • Garnish with cherries and pineapple slices and cute little umbrellas if you can find them.

How hard is that? If you want a more complex flavor, instead of 1.5 oz of white rum, use 1 oz of white and 1 oz of dark rum. I really wanted to try it with just dark rum, but after having a couple of these, I just couldn’t take the sweetness anymore. Sorry, I could only take so many for the team.

in the dunes of the cape.

     And now, if it isn’t already stuck in your head (which it has been in mine much to Mrs. G’s chagrin since last night), here is Rupert Holes’ “Escape” or as its more commonly known “The Pina Colada Song”. I dare you to listen to it once and see if it’s not stuck in your head all day. (sometimes I’m just not a nice guy 😉 )

4 thoughts on “A Pina Colada for National Rum Day

  1. We like rum drinks and find ourselves celebrating National Rum Day fairly often throughout the year. 🙂 I do agree that the mighty pina colada is the king (queen?) of the rum drinks along with the closely related daiquiri. I just had breakfast. Is it too early to have a cocktail? 🙂

Leave a Reply

