Spiral Cut Hot Dogs

Spiral Cut Hot Dogs

     Hot dogs aren’t something we eat a whole lot of at the Griffin’s House. I’m sure if we had kids, they’d get served up a lot more. Nothing wrong with them. They are what they are. They just don’t make it onto our menu much. After last weekend at the ranch, I realized we had quite a few dogs that we needed to get rid of. And then I remembered a craze that seemed to hit the net around the end of June, just in time for the Fourth of July….the spiral cut hot dog. Now, I’m not sure who came up with the idea first, or where I saw it first, but more than likely it was the guys at Chow.

Skewered and ready to slice

So “Why would you spiral cut a hot dog?” you may find yourself asking. The guys at Chow give 4 reasons:

  1. It allows the hot dog to cook up straight as an arrow allowing for an even char on all sides.
  2. They fit in a bun perfectly.
  3. There is more surface area so you get more crispy, caramelized meaty goodness.
  4. The threads form little crevices so chunky condiments like onions and relish don’t slide around.
  5. It looks cool so it makes a great conversation piece.
Making the cut

    The first thing you want to do is skewer your dogs. If it doesn’t go straight through the end, back it up and restart it. Next, take a knife a slice your hot dog at a diagonal while rolling the dog away from you. The skewer will stop you from cutting all the way through the dog. When you reach the end of the dog, remove the skewer and you are ready to grill.

Spiral cut dog

     We set our grill up for a direct cook at 400F. This isn’t rocket science, just set up your grill for how you would normally do burgers and dogs.

Chili

     If you feel like chili, pour some in a cast iron or grill safe pan and throw it on the grill as well.

Spiral cut dogs on the grill

     I’m gonna assume that I don’t need to tell anybody how to grill a hot dog.

Almost done

     I thought it was interesting how they seemed to spread out at they cooked. Maybe it was because they were Ball Parks and we all know they plump as they cook (roll eyes), or maybe that happens no matter what kind of dog you are cooking. Not really sure. Let me know if you use a different dog and have different results.

Plated up

     I topped one of my dogs with sauerkraut and mustard and another one with chili, cheese and mustard and a helping of crinkle cut fries. Yeah, they are kinda kids’ fries, but hell…the whole meal was kinda a kids’ meal. Obviously, the spiral cut had no effect on the taste of the dog. I did find that I was able to get more toppings on the dog without them falling out the rear when I tried to take a bite. Would I do it again? Probably. It only takes a few seconds and it would be a cool conversation piece next time you fire up your grill and you are cooking dogs for a hungry horde of screaming children.

     So get out there, fire up your grill and have a good weekend. Cook up some spiral cut hot dogs or some burgers, maybe a brisket, but get out there and enjoy the cooler weather and have fun. You know I will. 🙂

13 thoughts on “Spiral Cut Hot Dogs

  1. Ok, I am absolutely not ashamed to admit that I adore hot dogs. I’m drooling over here. I only buy the kosher kind though. I’m not Jewish, but because of being kosher, the weird stuff isn’t stuffed into the dog. It’s good, pure meat (just a thought for next time you buy some).

    I’ll go for the spiral cut next time for the caramelizing reason. I don’t like them burned, but I do like a bit of char on the edges and this makes LOTS of edges. 🙂

    1. Exactly…extra edges…extra char. These were Ball Park Angus, I think. They were running a buy one get one free special right before I went down to the ranch last weekend and its always good to have quick, easy things to prepare for lunch as when you are down there you are on your own for lunch. So what kind of dogs do you buy? Hebrew Nationals?

  2. I adore hot dogs and hamburgers, especially on the grill. I had not heard about the spiral cut dog and you can bet I will be trying this the very next time we cook out – oh yeah, that should be tomorrow! 🙂 Thanks for the tip.

  3. Spiraling makes the hotdog look bigger. Just worried about the juice, which gives its delicious addicting taste, leaking. But great tip to deceive children & not-so-children-anymore that they are getting longer & larger dogs…

Leave a Reply

