Pulled pork Nachos

Pulled Pork Nachos

     I was rooting around in the freezer the other night, trying to see what had become lost in it and to plan some dinners for this week when I discovered a bag of pulled pork that I had totally forgotten about. How is that possible? Anyway, this was from an Overnight Pork Butt back in April and was our first time using a pit controller (don’t worry, the pork was vacuum sealed so no freezer burn).

     I didn’t want to just reheat it and make pulled pork sandwiches, however. Just wasn’t feeling it. I was looking for something different. I asked on Facebook on Wednesday what people’s favorite ways were to use leftover pulled pork and got some really great answers – loaded baked potatoes with BBQ sauce, pulled pork pizza, pulled pork smoked mac n cheese (think Mrs. G really wants to try this one), tacos and BBQ sundaes. Although all seemed good (and I’m gonna try some with the next bag, did I mention I found 3 bags?), I opted to stick with my first inclination…pulled pork nachos.

Building the bottom layer

Ingredients

  • leftover pulled pork
  • tortilla chips
  • shredded cheese (I used a mixture or Oaxaca, Chihuahua and cheddar cheese, what I had on hand)
  • Hatch Enchilada Sauce
  • pico de gallo
  • optional – sour cream, guacamole, jalapenos
Add some pulled pork

Directions

  1. Begin  by laying down a bed of tortilla chips on a cookie sheet.
  2. Top generously with cheese, enchilada sauce and pulled pork.
  3. Add another layer of chips on top and repeat with cheese, enchilada sauce and pork. Build it as high as you want.

    Second layer added
  4. Place  under a broiler (set at 500F if you oven allows you to do this) and bake until cheese is melted. It only takes a few minutes.

    Hot, fresh, right out of the oven
  5. Remove from oven and top with pico de gallo, sour cream, guacamole and jalapenos.
Ready to eat

     The pulled pork really added another level to the nachos. The smokey flavor from the pecan and hickory came through along with the twang from the North Carolina Vinegar Sauce that was drizzled on before freezing it. The pico de gallo had just the right amount of heat and the sour cream and guacamole did a nice job of cooling it down. It’s nachos, so I’m not sure why I am explaining them to you. You’ve had them before. Now go out and try them with pulled pork.

11 thoughts on “Pulled pork Nachos

  1. Oh yeah!!! Now that’s awesome! You could have also cooked your nachos on the pizza stone on your Egg. I love the smoky flavor you get from Egged nachos!!!

  2. Looks great. Local BBQ restaurant added this to their menu last month but they used cheese sauce instead of shredded cheese and the chips have some of their rub sprinkled on the chips. I’m going to have to try your version soon.

Leave a Reply

