Tortilla Pizzas

Tortilla Pizza
Tortilla Pizza

Long time, no post, huh? Sorry about that, Guys. After Christmas, we took a few days off and headed down to the ranch to ring in the New Years. While down there, I developed a pretty nasty cold and ended up coming down with bronchitis, so I’ve been out of action for a while. I have done a few cooks, but none were really blog worthy.

January starts the busy season for Mrs. G, and as a result, she’s gonna be on the road quite a bit this month. And the next. 😦  That means a lot more solo cooks from me. Making pizzas using tortillas as the crust has been on my to-do list for quite a while now. I have been a bit worried about Mrs. G’s reaction to that, so I’ve been putting it off. With her out of town, I figured last night would be the perfect time to give it a shot. (And wouldn’t you know it, when I talked to her on the phone last night and told her, she actually said that sounded like a good idea. Go figure.)

Saucing the tortilla
Saucing the tortilla

Ingredients

  • tortillas
  • pizza sauce
  • mozzarella cheese (I added some cheddar as well, use what you like or what you have on hand)
  • your favorite pizza toppings
  • Italian Seasoning to sprinkle on top
I topped mine with a mixture of mozzarella, cheddar cheese, pepperoni, 'shrooms and black olives
I topped mine with a mixture of mozzarella, cheddar cheese, pepperoni, ‘shrooms and black olives

Directions

  1. Heat up your grill or oven to 400F and insert your pizza stone  to preheat for a minimum of 30 minutes (you do have a pizza stone right? No? Well go get one. I’ll wait here for you while you do that) For this cook, I used my Mini Big Green Egg and an 8″ pizza stone.
  2. Lightly sauce your tortilla and add your desired toppings. Go light on the toppings. The tortillas are thin and won’t stand up to a heaping of toppings.
  3. Place your pizza on the preheated pizza stone and cook for 8-10 minutes. Check your pizza about halfway and rotate for even cooking as needed. Check the bottom after about 8 minutes to make sure it isn’t burning. Cook until your desired level of crispness.
Done after about 8 minutes
Done after about 8 minutes

Tortillas being pretty small, I knew that one was not going to be enough for me. Leroy, aka Spring Chicken) on the Green Eggers Forum, mentioned doing a double layered one yesterday. Kinda like the Mexican Pizzas you get at Toxic Hell Taco Bell. Sounded like a good idea, so I tried it out on my second one. And before you get any ideas of that being a lot of food for one person, keep in mind that pizza stone I used was only 8″, so they were pretty small. 😛

Double layered tortilla pizza
Double layered tortilla pizza

Pretty much the same instructions as before, except I used two tortillas and put a thin layer of sauce and cheese between them.

After about 9 minutes
After about 9 minutes

Came out ok, but I think if I do a double layered one in the future, I would heat up the top tortilla for a few minutes to crisp it up a bit. I think it would give it a better texture/mouth feel than I got with a crispy bottom layer and a soft, warm upper layer.

Plated up on our best China. Hey...I did mention Mrs. G was out of town, no need to dirty more dishes when eating by myself.
Plated up on our best China. Hey…I did mention Mrs. G was out of town, no need to dirty more dishes when eating by myself.

If you are looking for a classic pizza, this might not be for you. But if you are looking for a quick dinner or snack or even an appetizer, this might be just up your alley. It has all the taste of a normal pizza and a crispy, cracker thin crust. Not the normal crust you would expect, but not the hassle of making dough, letting it rise, and stretching it all out. I also think it would be a great way to get kids involved in the whole cooking process.

4 thoughts on “Tortilla Pizzas

  1. I’m sorry you’re going to have to go through a stint of bachelorhood. A month’s a long time. The toppings on your pizza look fantastic, but being a Chicago girl, I need my crust to actually be there. I might need three tortillas. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Christiane. I’ve grown used to it over the years. When we first started dating, she’d be gone a couple days a week at her old job. She still does a lot of traveling, but now its only two times a year. Right at the beginning and then again in August (that’s how I got to go to Germany last year with her). She’s racking up the miles that we use for vacations and it gives me some “ME Time”. Do you have a deep dish recipe? Mine (ahwile back) was more of a pan pizza, would love a true deep dish.

  2. For the record, smoke helps fight bronchitis. Okay, I’m not a doctor nor do I play one on TV, but that’s my story and I’m sticking to it 😉

Leave a Reply

