Chicken Pot Pie Take II

Chicken Pot Pie
Chicken Pot Pie

     I’ve been meaning to do a chicken pot pie again for quite a while. We did one a long time ago (I just checked and turns out the last Chicken Pot Pie we did was on Jan 16, 2012, just one day shy of a year ago. What are the odds that we would randomly do one almost a year later? Really? I promise you that wasn’t planned.)

Sauteing onions and celery
Sauteing onions and celery

     I don’t know what I was thinking when I did that post. I didn’t have a recipe and I’m sure it wasn’t helpful to anybody. I thought about deleting it many times. I was kind of embarrassed I even did it. I was still new to blogging, and was a bit obsessed with writing posts and seeing how many people I could get to visit my blog every day.  These days I’m not so obsessed anymore…at least I don’t think. I no longer care about how many people visit my site or if its growing every month. Don’t get me wrong, I do love all of you guys that come and visit and am so thankful you are out there. I’m just no longer obsessed with growth. I want to give you good posts that can instruct and/or inspire you. I’d rather do quality over quantity and if I don’t write a post every other day, oh well. I think if I do that, it’ll grow on its own…or it won’t. Either way, I’m ok with that. So for that reason, I keep that old chicken pot pie recipe up there to remind me of where I was and how far I’ve come since then and to keep me writing quality posts. I think I’ve rambled enough. Sorry ’bout that.

Adding the leftover chicken thighs that were cooked on the BGE a few days before.
Adding the leftover chicken thighs that were cooked on the BGE a few days before.

      This chicken pot pie recipe comes from Ree Drummond, aka The Pioneer Woman, and can be found all over the net under pot pie or chicken pot pie or leftover turkey pot pie. It can also be found in her book “The Pioneer Woman Cooks”. Of course, we’re not real good at following recipes here at Griffin’s Grub and usually end up tweaking it to suit our own needs.

Adding chicken broth
Adding chicken broth

Ingredients

(this is for our modified version, if you want her original recipe, it should only take a couple of seconds searching on Google)

  • 2 pie crusts (she calls for using her Perfect Pie Crust recipe (and only 1) and I would like to try that one day, but sometimes life gets in the way and time gets the best of you. We used pre-bought pir crusts. Still came out great, but I hang my head in shame)
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 1/2 cup finely diced onion
  • 1/2 cup finely diced celery
  • 2 cups of leftover chicken, diced (this took about 3 medium sized chicken thighs)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups of low-sodium chicken broth
  • splash of white wine (optional)
  • 3/4 cups of heavy cream
  • 1 cup of frozen mixed veggies (we used a blend of peas, corn, carrots and green beans)
  • fresh thyme, chopped
  • Season-All and salt and pepper to taste
Adding the pot pie filling
Adding the pot pie filling

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven (or Big Green Egg if you feel like braving the cold weather, we didn’t) to 400F
  2. Melt butter in a large skillet on medium heat. Add onions and celery and cook until translucent.
  3. Add chicken and allow to cook for a few minutes.
  4. Sprinkle flour over mixture and allow to cook for a few minutes, stirring constantly.
  5. While continuing to stir, add in chicken broth, a splash of white wine and heavy cream.
  6. Add in a cup of frozen veggies.
  7. Bring to a slow boil and allow mixture to cook and thicken for a few minutes.
  8. Add in fresh thyme, season-all and salt and pepper to taste.
  9. Line a 9″ pie pan with one pie crust (The Pioneer Woman only topped her pot pie with a pie crust, we like crust on the top and bottom of our pot pies. Use one or two, depending on what your family likes)
  10. Pour the mixture into the pie pan.
  11. Place the second crust on top of the pot pie mixture and press the crust into the side of the dish. Cut slits in the top of the crust. (if you have to trim the edges of the crust, you can make a design with it and add it to the top. Mrs. G is responsible for those flower petals)
  12. Bake for 30 or 40 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown. (You may need to protect the edges of the pie part way through with a pie crust shield or aluminum foil to keep from burning)
  13. Allow to cool for 10 minutes before serving.
Into the oven pre-heated to 400F
Into the oven pre-heated to 400F

     I really wanted to try and bake this on the Big Green Egg, but it was kind of cold last night and I’m just now getting over being sick. I didn’t figure it was worth the risk of relapsing. Do you forgive me? Just this one time? I promise I’ll do the next one on the Egg.

Ready to eat
That piece of corn jumped out and tried to attack me! It was only due to my cat-like reflexes that I was able to deflect it! Sorry for the messiness.

     This came out soooo good! So creamy and savory. The hint of smoke from the chicken that was cooked on the BGE. The flaky, buttery crust. Mmmm…so good! And to think I have some leftover for lunch! I’m super excited about that. The only complaint, and it was our fault because we couldn’t wait any longer, is that it was a bit to liquid-ey (I don’t think that’s a word, but I don’t care). We were so hungry and it smelt so good, that we couldn’t wait ten minutes. Had we waited, I think it would have cooled more and thickened up. So that was our bad. Otherwise, the flavors were spot on.

Things I’d Do Different

  • I’d like to try it with home-made crust some day. I think it would be even better, but store-bought works in a pinch.
  • Get some ramekins and make individual pot pies. I don’t like big pot pies because they’re hard to get out of the pie pan in one nice, neat slice and then the filling starts spilling out everywhere. Just a big mess. I’d like to try individual ones.
  • Get a pie crust shield. I hate trying to make one out of aluminum. There must be a trick I’m missing.
  • Cook it on the Big Green Egg.

 

12 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie Take II

  1. Griff – Must try this, Pot pie is simple and good. The trick to aluminum edge guards is using a heavy foil, taken off the roll (in my case 15″) so I have 4 pieces, about 2″ to 3″ wide. Hold two of the strips together, as if you were doubling the, then fold down by about an inch. Repeat two or three times. This locks the two strips together. Open them up and you have one piece now about 24″ long by 3″ wide. Repeat for as many as you need to circle the pie. Now you are dealing with one piece of foil, maybe 3″X50″ rather than a bunch of little pieces, much easier.
    Make your own crust, and as you note, personal pies have crust top and bottom, large pies, only top crust – you can’t get a piece out in one piece anyway.

  2. Ah yes, even better on the Big Green Egg. You promised! Still, and even so, this one looks pretty tasty. Nice job. We’ve all had wayward corn, no worries.They are rebellious little things, of their own mind! I could go into many jokes, but I’ll hold off being we don’t know each other.

    Like your site!

      1. Well, your wayward corn, that’s just in it’s nature of being corn you see. It’s supposed to do that. If you don’t believe me, just take a gander in your toilet. It does the same thing there too. Corn…Why bother!

        You promised you didn’t mind…

  3. Excellent and timely post, it’s definitely Pot Pie weather in North Texas. I use Ina Garten’s recipe, modified slightly of course. I also use 7 ounce round ramekins. They look small, but it’s so rich that it’s the perfect serving size. Hungry guys just have two of them. One Pillsbury pie crust will cover four ramekins. Perfect crust to filling ratio, and with no bottom crust, so cooking them is easy peasy…just cook til top crust if browned to perfection. And I make mine on the BGE…ever since my oven broke down (two years ago!), all my baking is done on the egg.

    1. So, did you get a bunch of snow this morning, Greg? It was a nightmare driving to work between 6:20 and 7 through Richardson, Garland, Mesquite and out to Sunnyvale. I should have stayed home.

      Thanks for the tips on the ramekins and how many the pie crust will cover. I’m going to do that next time for sure. And on the Egg.

Leave a Reply

