A New Approach to Steak and Another Birthday!!

Happy Birthday!!
Happy Birthday!!

     I can’t believe that Griffin’s Grub is turning two years old! I am soooo excited! Technically, it’s not till tomorrow (Aug 31st), but I’ve got too much to do this weekend to do a post on a Saturday. Anyway, what better way to celebrate a birthday than with steak?

Herb Paintbrush
“The herb brush flavors the baste, releases oils into the crust as it builds, and eventually becomes a garnish for the Board Dressing”

     There has been a lot of talk on the Egghead Forum lately about Adam Perry Lang and the second release of his book “Serious Barbecue”. Apparently, the first edition went out of print some time ago and copies were going for hundreds of dollars. No way could I afford that, but now with the second release going for around $27 on Amazon, I’m sure I’ll be picking up a copy soon. Before buying the book, I thought I would try out one of his recipes that I could find online to see what I thought.

Butter Baste
Butter Baste

        Before cooking the steak, Adam makes a Butter Baste that he brushes on the steaks while he cooks them to further develop flavors. The heat from the steak causes oils to be released from the herb brush adding more flavor to the steak as well as the butter baste as the steak continues to cook.

Steak on the BGE at 475ish
Steak on the BGE at 475ish

     Of all the recipes I could find online, none really specify a temperature at which to cook the steaks. This recipe only called for the fire to be “very hot” and “mature and level”. Ok…so what’s very hot? 450? 500? 700? My Egg settled in at 475ish, which might have been fine had I not left the steak on as long as I did or had I not cooked it on a raised grate. Live and learn.

Board Dressing
Board Dressing

     One of the more unusual techniques Mr. Lang employs is to build a Board Dressing using extra olive oil, parsley, salt and the tips of the herb brush. Just mix it up right there on the board. Kind of reminds me of something Steve Raichlen did in what I think was his Tuscan Steak in How To Grill. I might be wrong on that, so don’t quote me. Other than Adam and Steve, I don’t recall seeing or hearing of anybody else doing anything similar.

Sliced
Sliced

     Once the steak is done, drop it right down on the Board Dressing and flip it to coat. Allow five minutes for the steak to rest and begin cutting, turning each slice in the dressing to coat. Plate up and pour the remaining board dressing over the steaks and finish with a sprinkling of salt.

     There are a couple of reasons I didn’t write this post like normal. For starters, I feel like I made quite a few “rookie” mistakes while re-creating this recipe and those would not allow me to make an accurate assessment. While making his steak seasoning, I realized I didn’t have garlic salt. Only garlic powder. OK…garlic powder was what I had, that’s what I used. Not sure how that affected it. Two, after making the butter baste, it called for letting it stand for one hour to bring out the flavors. Whoops…with my ADD I must have missed that part. I made it right before grilling the steaks. Would that have a huge impact? I’m not sure, but it was too late to do anything about it. And three, I didn’t do a good job cooking my steak. In fact, I overcooked it. I tried to do a reverse sear and I wasn’t sure on my times and temps. I should have just stuck with my normal method.

     I will say that the flavors were spot on amazing and I can’t wait to try it again. There was a really nice herbal flavor to the steak that was just out of this world. Usually, I’m pretty much a purist when it comes to steak. Salt and pepper only and let the steak speak for itself, but this was a nice change and one I can’t wait to try again. I’ll work on my technique and when I get it down, I’ll make sure to post up ingredients and directions. If you can’t wait till then, look up Adam Perry Lang and steak recipes or use This One.

Two years old!!
Two years old!!

     But really, this post isn’t about the steak. It’s about Griffin’s Grub turning two years old!! Still going strong and getting better and better as time goes by. At least, I like to think so. I hope you agree.

     There are some things I would like to try and tackle in the upcoming year. We’ve never done lamb before. I would like to try a few things with that. Maybe goat as well. I recently saw somebody cook a 10lb suckling pig on their BGE. That seemed really cool to me, if I can just find one. Maybe try my hand at more baking and bread making. Been saying that I would like to make my own hamburger buns for a while. Those are just a few of the things I would like to try.

     I said it last year and I’m going to say it again this year, “What would you like to see? Got any ideas of things you’d like to see me grill or barbecue? Or heck….maybe even try to cook on that oversized box in the kitchen? Or is there anything you’d like to see me change? As always, I’d love to hear from you, so leave a comment.” 

     Anyway, thanks for making our second year such a huge success (in my mind at least). I appreciate each and every one of you that stops by and I hope that I have helped you in some small way. I couldn’t do this without you.

     And in case you were wondering, the cake was tres leches and, I hate to admit it, store bought. Sorry, but this has been one crazy, busy week and I just didn’t have the time or energy to whip something up myself. Forgive me?

4 thoughts on “A New Approach to Steak and Another Birthday!!

  1. Happy blog anniversary! I love the blog; reading it has given me the courage to do some grilling myself (rather than letting the men in the family have all the fun 😉 My dad made brisket on his grill today (low and slow!) and we thought happily of Griffin’s Grub — I never would have thought to order brisket if I hadn’t read about it here. I look forward to reading any experimentation you do with off-the-beaten-track meats (goat, lamb, etc.), and I love reading about the marinades and finishing sauces. Best of luck in your third year!

  2. Happy blogiversary! I really enjoy your posts.

    I love some of Adam Perry Lang’s techniques too (his prime rib is incredible) and try to incorporate them when I can.

    I agree with theresma that I’d like to see more about your rubs and sauces.

    Congrats!

  3. Happy 2 years old!

    I have a few of his books and the board dressing and herb brush are two techniques from his books that I use the most often with any recipe, not just his. I always like when his on Jimmy Kimmel’s show, always lots of laughs, you can tell they are really having fun.

Leave a Reply

