Alabama Mashed Potato Salad

MeMaw's Alabama Mashed Potato Salad
MeMaw’s Alabama Mashed Potato Salad

     About two weeks ago, when I posted the Bacon Blue Cheese Grilled Potato Salad, I promised that the next time Mrs. G made her Mashed Potato Salad, I would post it up here. This recipe was handed down from MeMaw (Mrs. G’s Grandmother) to her daughter and then to Mrs. G and will be handed down to our kids someday.

     Now, I don’t really know what kind of ties this has to Alabama. I don’t know if it is a common dish there or not. All I know is that MeMaw lived in Alabama at some point in her life and that is what it is called in her recipe (**update – I’ve been informed that MeMaw was born and raised in Alabama and moved to Texas when she was 18**). If any of you are from Alabama, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. Anyway, I’m going to hand this over to Mrs. G to finish off the post.

     This one of those recipes that you have to taste as you go along.  Some people like it more mayonaisy and some like it more mustardy.  I like it somewhere in the middle.  You can add but you can’t take away!  Tasting is key.

Ingredients

(6-8 servings)

  • 6-7 Potatoes  (this is a medium sized batch)
  • 1 small Diced onion
  • 3-4 celery stalks diced
  • 1-2 medium diced dill pickles
  • 1-2 T pickle juice
  • 3 cups of mayo
  • ¼ cup of mustard (not sure how much I used…I would just taste it and squirt more in until I thought it was right.  I would start with a few tablespoons and add more if needed)
  • 5-6 hard boiled eggs

Directions

  1. Peel and boil potatoes.  Let stand to cool then mash.
  2. Add mayo and mustard…a little at a time until you get the consistency you want and flavor
  3. Add celery, onion, pickles, pickle juice.
  4. Add 4 boiled eggs, chopped. 
  5. Mix ingredients well until smooth- if you like it a lil chunky don’t mash it up as much
  6. Salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Slice the remaining 2 boiled eggs for the top.
  8. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Recipe by Memaw!

Alabama Mashed Potato Salad
Alabama Mashed Potato Salad

     Ok, it’s me, Griffin. I’m back and here to let you know what I think of this dish. Back when I was dating Mrs. G and I first had this potato salad, I was a little surprised, to say the least. Let me start off by saying that I’ve never been a huge fan of potato salads. If a barbecue doesn’t have one, it’s not a big deal to me. Meat is the center and showpiece of any good barbecue. This one caught me off guard, though. It was unlike any potato salad I had ever had. It’s got the texture of mashed potatoes, but served cold. And yet it has all the familiar tastes of a normal potato salad, it was just missing those big chunks of potatoes (that are often undercooked in my experience). To be honest, it was kind of hard to wrap my head around it. After having it a few times, I really began to like it and now after years and years of being served this potato salad, it’s become the one I prefer.

     How do you like your potato salad? Chunky or smooth like this one? Does yours lean more towards a mayo or mustard base? I’d love to hear what kind of potato salad you guys are eating alongside your barbecue…if any.

9 thoughts on “Alabama Mashed Potato Salad

  1. I’m sort of with you on potato salads. I like them, but if they don’t show up at a barbecue, it’s not the end of the world. I have a few rules regarding potato salad — I will not eat it if it contains sweet pickle relish. Also, onions in a potato salad are a big no-no in my book. I’ve eat mashed potato salad before and, like you, it took me some getting used to. Bottom line: I think we’re most comfortable with what we grew up on, or what our spouses introduce us to (and serve regularly). I’m sure my wife never thought, as a younger woman, that she’d be eating chicken fried steak and fried okra. After all, she’d never heard of either dish until she met me. Good stuff, man!

  2. This is exactly how we make our potato salad and I was almost an adult before I saw anything chunky – don’t like, almost always undercooked as you say – yours sounds wonderful! My son-in-law is originally from New Jersey and his mom is from South Korea….he didn’t even know what it was the first time he saw it – now, he asks for it regularly.

  3. Bigtime potato salad fan here, and most I’ve tasted leave a lot to be desired. Made this one today and it rocks! Appreciate the recipe and this will be my go-to from now on.

  4. My family is from LA (lower Alabama) and the Florida panhandle area. This is the only kind of potato salad they ever made. Love it!

  5. I live in Indiana but my family is from Kentucky and Arkansas. The only potato salad I had ever eaten was mashed. My dad and I always preferred it hot, freshly made. I mash the potatoes well before adding the ingredients. I like mine more mustardy. I will pop a spoonful in the microwave before eating if it has been in the refrigerator. I worked as prep cook in a small restaurant where I live. We had some left over mashed potatoes the cook was going to toss so I asked if she wanted me whip up some potato salad. She thought I was crazy but she let me. The next day the wait staff had to explain the strange dish on the salad bar over and over.

Leave a Reply

