Buffalo Shrimp

Buffalo Shrimp, plus one lonely regular ole shrimp.
Buffalo Shrimp, plus one lonely regular ole shrimp.

    

Wow!! Sometimes life just gets busy. Works been crazy with a move to a new lab and all that has entailed. Throw in the holidays, and things get put on the back burner. Hate to say it, but that’s what kinda has happened with this blog lately. Honestly, I meant to cook these lil shrimps up last night (12/4), but we had to go out and find a Christmas tree before this bad storm hit Dallas (12/5). I don’t know where in the world you are, but if the weather is anything like it is here in the DFW Metroplex, it’s pretty darn cold, wet and nasty and chances are you won’t be going in to work tomorrow. As cold as it is outside, these shrimp sure did warm us up inside.

Dredge station all set up.
Dredge station all set up.

     Those of you who have followed this blog for anytime, know that I have a deep love for wings. Anyway I can get them. Not only do I love wings, but I love Buffalo sauce. A little less known fact is that I love fried shrimp. Coated in cornmeal or flour, tempura or any other way. About once or twice a month, I get a craving and I have to satisfy it. It dawned on me the other day…why not combine fried shrimp and Buffalo sauce? Now, I’m no nutritionist and I could be totally wrong, but don’t you think Buffalo shrimp has to be a little bit healthier than Buffalo wings? And if not, who really cares? They were pretty damn tasty.

Regular ole fried shrimp
Regular ole fried shrimp

 Ingredients

  • 2 lb shrimp (21-25 count), peeled and deveined
  • 1.5 cups of cornmeal
  • 1 tsp each of garlic powder, onion powder, Cajun seasoning (we used Dizzy Pig Swamp Venom), pepper and salt
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup hot sauce (Frank’s)
  • canola oil for frying

For the Buffalo Sauce

  • 1/2 cup Frank’s Hot Sauce
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 lemon, squeezed
  • a coupla squirts of Sriracha
1/2 plain fried shrimp, 1/2 tossed in Buffalo sauce
1/2 plain fried shrimp, 1/2 tossed in Buffalo sauce

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 200F.
  2. Pour about an inch and a half of oil in a cast iron skillet and heat to about 350-375F. While oil is heating, combine ingredients for the Buffalo sauce in a small sauce pan and heat on low to medium low. You just want to melt the butter and get warm. High heat will cause the sauce to break and that is no bueno.
  3. Fill a shallow dish with cornmeal and add the seasonings and stir until well mixed. In another bowl, beat two eggs and add milk and Frank’s hot sauce.
  4. Dip the shrimp in the egg mixture and then dredge in the cornmeal mixture. Shake off excess cornmeal and fry the shrimp, about 6 at a time, 2 to 3 minutes a side or until golden brown. Remove shrimp to a cooling rack over a cookie sheet to allow oil to drain, and then dip shrimp in Buffalo sauce. Return the shrimp to the cooling rack and place in pre-heated oven. Continue with remaining shrimp until finished.
  5. If desired, drizzle on more Buffalo sauce when finished. Serve with ranch or bleu cheese and celery.
Dinner is served
Dinner is served

And if you like it a bit spicier and messier, don’t be afraid to drizzle more Buffalo sauce on the shrimp right before serving.

Messy can be a good thing!
Messy can be a good thing!

     I thought the shrimp turned out fantastic. Granted, they would have been better had I eaten them while still piping hot and not stopped to take pictures for the blog. Shrimp cool fast. Very, very fast. The sacrifices I make for you guys. Combining two of my favorite things, fried shrimp and Buffalo sauce? What’s not to like? I thought they were a hit. And while my wife likes fried shrimp and she likes Buffalo wings, she wasn’t the biggest fan. In her own words, “I don’t like that flavor on shrimp.” I guess she’s more of a purist and would rather let the shrimp stand by themselves. So one thumbs up and one thumbs down here in our casa. I guess you’ll just have to try them yourself and let me know who’s right and who’s wrong. Me or Mrs. G?

     And on a side note, the news just announced that Frisco ISD is closed tomorrow which means Mrs. G’s work is closed as well. Which means that I’m  not going to work tomorrow either. 🙂 Hope y’all have a good weekend. And if the weather in your neck of the woods is anything like ours, stay warm and stay safe.

8 thoughts on “Buffalo Shrimp

  1. Yes no work tomorrow. Its freaking cold here in cedar hill. Hey man can u email me the spreadsheet for the sausage. Thank you.

    1. I’ve been meaning to get it to you, but I have been super busy. Don’t think I’m ignoring you. I’ll take a look around for it on my home computer, but I think that file is on my computer at work and we’re iced in all weekend. If I don’t get it to you today, I’ll get it to you next week.

  2. Thanks man. hey today is good weather to go hunting to bad we cant even drive out of the house lol. just in Texas . I will try some recipes today .

Leave a Reply

