Herbed Trout Fillets

Herbed Trout Fillets
Herbed Trout Fillets

     Back to the other day when I was wandering around aimlessly shopping at Sprouts and I spotted that beautiful okra. I needed something to go with the fried okra that I thought I was going to make. Fish is always a healthy choice and I figured I would make some blackened salmon or maybe catfish. When I got to the fish counter, the trout jumped out at me. It looked fresher and while a bit more than the catfish, it was cheaper than the salmon. Plus we like trout.

     My original thought was to do our Grilled Blackened Trout. We don’t like to do the traditional method of blackening inside our house. It get the house smokey, which in turn sets off the smoke alarm, which then freaks our dogs out causing them to either start barking or go into hiding. Not to mention makes the house smell. But with temperatures in the 20’s and me all nice and cozy in our warm house, lighting the Egg just did not seem to be in my future. So it was off to go scour the old interweb and see what kind of easy recipe I could find to go with our stewed okra and tomatoes. 

Herbed Trout Fillets 

Adapted from Emeril Lagasse’s Herbed Trout Fillets

Ingredients

  • 4 6-8 oz trout fillets
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp Creole seasoning (like Tony Chachere’s)
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp finely chopped parsley
  • 1 Tbsp finely chopped green onions (or chives)
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • lemon wedges as accompaniment

Directions

  1. Preheat broiler to 500F
  2. In a medium bowl, combine lemon juice, Creole seasoning, garlic, parsley, green onions and oregano. Slowly whisk in olive oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Line a cookie sheet with foil and then place a wire rack on top. Spray the wire rack with PAM. Arrange the fillets on top and then brush with vinaigrette.
  4. Broil 5-6 inches from heat until just cooked through, about 5 minutes or until temperature reaches 135F.
  5. Serve with lemon wedges.

Herbed trout fillets with stewed okra and tomatoes
Herbed trout fillets with stewed okra and tomatoes

     We really enjoyed this simple method for trout. Easy ingredients and total time from start to finish was under 10 minutes. By lifting the trout off the baking sheet and onto a wire rack, it allows the skin to crisp up a bit which is a plus in my book. And the trout paired really well with the stewed okra and tomatoes. I didn’t think that this recipe was going to be worthy of a post so I really didn’t work hard at the photos, but I was pleasantly surprised. I just wish I had taken better photos now. Oh well.

     And please, please if you are going to eat seafood, don’t reach for that bottle of tartar sauce. Do yourself a favor and quickly whisk up a batch. It really does make a difference and takes very little effort on your part. This is one we really enjoy: Home Made Horseradish and Tarragon Tartar Sauce

3 thoughts on “Herbed Trout Fillets

  1. “I didn’t think that this recipe was going to be worthy of a post so I really didn’t work hard at the photos,” I love the honesty there. Hilarious.

    1. Gotta keep it real, JJ. Sometimes I think recipes are going to be ok and they turn out great, sometimes I think they are going to be great and they are a total flop. Like my chicken and rice soup last night. Way too much rice. It expanded, soaked up all the broth and was a complete mess. Had to add more broth to get it back to “soupy” and then that threw off all the flavors I tried so hard to create. Note to self not so much rice next time. Or just stick with noodles.

Leave a Reply

