Settling in to a new Home

Moving.

Nobody likes to do it. Sure, the prospect of a new place is fun. But the actual moving…not so much. Packing, turning off utilities and setting up new ones, getting all the bills updated with new addresses. The actual physical act of moving (while a new roof was getting installed on the same day !!). And then unpacking. Throw in a 17 month old boy, a sick wife and a MIL on moving day and well I’ll let you imagine…

But now we’ve been in the new place for two weeks and things are starting to get back to normal.

IMG_4323[1]
We’ve landed on the tee box on the 18th hole of a golf course somewhere or other
I knew when we first saw the house, that we’d start cooking more outside once again. Mr.s G really did not like the backyard at the last place and I don’t blame her. But she’s enjoying being outside here, and so has Duke.

We had to break in the house with some burgers

IMG_4325[1]
There’s something special about lighting up a grill at your new place for the first time…
Done

 

IMG_4328[1]
Served on our finest China of course
And some simple drumsticks

IMG_4331[1]
Nothing fancy here
And fish is always healthy

IMG_4336[1]
Rainbow trout, I believe
And can’t go wrong with pizza

IMG_4350[1]
My preferred setup on the Egg for the dough we like
And what Texan doesn’t like brisket

IMG_4375[1]
I’ll let you wonder how it turned out. I might have had one too many and then forgot to take pictures. LOL
Last night I tried a new marinade for shrimp. It was pretty darn tasty, but I think I need to tweak it a bit. When I get it down just right, I’ll be sharing it here I think.

IMG_4417[1]
Pretty good shrimp, but they need some work
And after Duke went to bed, I smoked some meatballs that will be for dinner tomorrow night.

IMG_4423[1]
Meatball’s view of the backyard
I tasted one when they came off and I can already tell you that they will also need work. Not enough seasoning in them at all. Another item to work on.

IMG_4427[1]
Meatballs finishing up
So that’s what’s been keeping us busy lately. We’ve got a ton of work to do. Landscaping, expanding the patio possibly. Tons of little projects here and there that went neglected with the last owner. I’m gonna have to do something to get the Egg off the porch since its so small and still keep it covered so I can grill/smoke in the elements. All the joys of home ownership. At least Mrs. G was smart enough to convince me to get the inside of the house painted before we moved in…

And I couldn’t leave without the obligatory pic of the kiddo.

IMG_4405[1]
Monkeying around at the aquarium
6 thoughts on “Settling in to a new Home

  1. Congratulations on your move, and happy grilling! Please do share those recipes, I haven’t grilled enough shrimp and want to add those to the menu this summer.

  2. The food looks great, as always. But the thing that got me more than anything else in this entry was the move … the gate … the yard. We’re fast approaching a year living 200 miles apart with me on a lot the size of your patio. I’d actually LOVE a moving day as you describe. Keep the pictures coming, man.

Leave a Reply

