Sous Vide Ribeye Steaks

So two weeks back….God, has it been that long already?…. I lost my cousin in a sky diving accident. He was ex Army Ranger, a sky dive instructor and part of a sky dive team. They had done a formation and coming into the landing, somebody was out of place. My cousin had the last minute choice to hit that guy and they possibly both died or to make a last minute turn. He turned, but didn’t make it.

Since that happened, I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching. One of the things I decided was that I want to be closer to my brother. He lives just 25 minutes away, but we never see each other. Life is just to “busy”. I decided that needed to change, so I invited him over for dinner Saturday night so we could hang out.

Went and picked up 2 1 3/4″ ribeyes from Hirsch’s Meat Market in Plano since this was a special occasion. Didn’t know it was going to cost that much, but it came out to $75!! Much nicer steaks than I get at my local grocery store and it was a special occasion.

IMG_3243

Decided these needed to be done right, so I broke out the Sous Vide and these guys got a 2 hour bath at 134.

IMG_3247Wasn’t sure if I was going to use the Egg of the Weber for the cook, but after going through my inventory I discovered I had way more Kingsford charcoal than lump. Need to get rid of it just for storage space so the kettle got the nod.

IMG_3251

Couple minutes per side and then a 10 minute rest of so while we waited for Mrs. G to finish up the sides

IMG_3254

IMG_3257

Sides were garlic mashed cauli and some green beans.

IMG_3258

The steaks did not suck. I think I did them justice and it was good getting to hang out with my brother. We’re going to try and make it at least a monthly thing and do a better job staying in touch. Thanks for listening to me ramble and get that off my chest.

9 thoughts on “Sous Vide Ribeye Steaks

  1. My condolences on the loss of your cousin.

    Really enjoy reading your blog and those steaks look so good I could almost taste them. There is nothing like a good ribeye. I usually reverse sear although I have do buy whole ribeye or striploin at Costco, cut and vacuum seal steaks with a little salt, pepper and sprig of fresh rosemary then freeze. Put them in the sous vide right out of the freezer for a couple hours then finish on charcoal or if it’s really cold out in a cast iron pan.

  2. Sorry about the loss of your cousin. I always said the best way to go is while doing something you love, which apparently was the case with your cousin. Your Sous Vide ribeyes look awesome. Love preparing them that way myself. All the best. Another Griff

  3. Really sorry for your loss. Something good has come out of it and that’s you making a change to be closer to another family member. The steaks looked great. I need to sous vide more often. Being a fellow diabetic, I’m hoping you could get Mrs. G to link her garlic mashed cauliflower recipe. Peace.

  4. Sorry for the loss of your cousin, but so glad you were able to connect with your brother. The steaks look great. I haven’t done sous vide. I understand the idea that they will never overcook if brought to and held at or just shy of the desired temperature, but I can’t help but think that the fat or the texture must change at least a bit? And I know that solid muscle meats are less prone to bearing foodborne spoilage bacteria, but as they are held at incubation temperature for an extended period of time and never reach a “safe” holding temperature, how does that work out?

    1. First, you have to understand that “safe holding temperature” is a simplified target that the FDA puts out to keep people safe. What they don’t tell you is that if 155 degrees is safe, 145 for an extended length of time is also safe and 140 for an even longer time is again, also safe. They don’t advertise that because it can be complicated and confusing and it’s so much easier to tell people one target temperature and leave it at that. Secondly, yes, texture does change. Initially it’s for the better. Connective tissue breaks down more slowly at lower temperatures so prolonging the cooking times (immersed) is necessary. If it’s a premium steak, there’s little connective tissue to break down so there really isn’ta benefit to extended cooking times. I’ve done steaks from 2 hours to 4.5 hours with no apparent negative effects. I’ve heard of people doing 24 hours on a steak and having it loose it’s tooth so to speak and ended up being too mushy.

  5. I have done most protein with the Sous Vide. I do more game than anything else. SV is the epitome of low and slow. Good beef steaks are best, so I have found, reverse seared and SV for two to two and one half hours. When finished another quick sear. A marvelous use of SV is for a beef tri tip. Three pounds for 8 1/2 hours at 135 degree, then sear. Incredible. Good luck.

Leave a comment