Swamp Balls (aka Sausage Cheese Balls)

     A few people have asked for the recipe for the sausage cheese balls that I made at the Plano Outlaw Eggfest two weekends ago, so I feel obliged to put it up here. It’s not a very complicated recipe, and you can find it all over the net in many different variations, but this was my spin on it.  The sausage cheese balls (swamp balls) get their name from the Dizzy Pig Swamp Venom. I would say it  most closely resembles a Cajun seasoning, but with more kick. A really great product that I highly recommend.  http://www.dizzypigbbq.com/HTMLrubs/swampvenom.html )

Stacie and I prepping

 Ingredients

  • 2 packages of breakfast sausage (I use one regular and one hot)
  • 1 and 1/4 cup Bisquick
  • 4 cups (16oz) shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 2-4 cloves of garlic, finely minced
  • 1-2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2-4 tsp Dizzy Pig Swamp Venom, or other cajun seasoning
  • Vary the above 3 spices depending on your tolerance for heat. You can always make one “tester” and cook in a skillet over medium heat until temp reaches 160 to see if you have the right heat level. Remember, you can always add more spice, but you can’t take it away.
On the Egg

Directions

  • Preheat your grill to 375, allowing yourself room to cook indirect (or warm up your oven if you are cooking indoors)
  • Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until just blended. Shape into 1 inch balls. (You should be able to make 5 to 6 dozen sausage balls.)
  • Bake 12-14 minutes or until sausage balls reach 160.
  • Serve with toothpicks

    Find a lovely assistant to hand them out while you make more

     The above recipe should make 72 sausage balls. If you figure 2 per person, that should be enough to feed 36. 

    They go fast

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Swamp Balls (aka Sausage Cheese Balls)

  1. Those really do look great. And I’ll second the recommendation on the Swamp Venom. IMO, a fantastic all-purpose rub if you like something with a kick to it.

  2. Sounds like a keeper Jason
    Again, great job at the fest. You have me thinking about trying one up this way,next summer.
    Gotta grow me a Texas size pair 🙂

    Shane

  3. I was thinking of making these but I am also planning on making some Dizzy Pig wings which have to be cooked 1.5 – 2.5 hours at 275.

    Could I do these at 275 for a longer period? Do you think there will be any texture differences? Maybe I should just crank it to 375 when the wings are done.

    1. Not sure how they would turn out at a lower temp for a longer period. I would like to say they would be ok, but I don’t know. What are you cooking your wings on? If I were you, I would bump the temp of your grill up to 375 and cook your wings at that temp. Take less time and you will get a crispy skin on them, instead of a rubbery one that you will probably get at 275. At 375, they will probably take about 30 minutes or so (remember to cook to temp, not time, 165 for poultry)

      Here’s some I did at that temp back before I had a blog.
      http://www.barbecuebible.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=22132&highlight=wings

Leave a comment